Who Knew?

the Fun Box

Oh, the things a Grandmom can learn on the Internet!

Oh, the things I wish I had known when my kids were little….

Playing with the bin

Like Sensory Bins…Or, as the Small People call them, The Fun Box.

A bunch of dollar-store plastic ¬†kitchen tools, two bags of cotton balls, one bag of sparkly pom-poms and a plastic bin. Add two housebound preschoolers…aaannnddd, Presto!

Niko and his Tongs

45 minutes of peaceful play…

This is our second version of the Fun Box. The first was Pretend Snow – a mixture of cornstarch and baby oil – that all the knights from Angel’s castle got to play in. Lots of messy, squishy fun! We saved the ‘snow’ in a plastic bag, and have used it a few more times…

Working together

This bin didn’t require a drop-cloth or a vacuum cleaner, making it the better choice for a day when Grandmom couldn’t sit with them the entire time. We made this on Friday, and it’s been out of the closet every day since, at least once. I’m already planning a new one for later this week…maybe something pourable, like rice…Or fluffy, like shredded paper…The possibilities are almost endless!

Until then…

For You

Pom-Pom Pie, anyone?

35 thoughts on “Who Knew?

  1. Imagination is a great thing, isn’t it? And it looks like you’ve found the perfect way to stimulate some creative play… 45 minutes of it too, that’s good value for money!

  2. How fun! I’m with you in wishing I had known some of these things when my kids were little. I guess that’s part of being a grandmother — learning all the new-fangled ways of having fun. ;)

    • What gets me is how obvious some things should have been…Judy mentioned the old Button Box – my kids played in my mother’s, just as I played in my grandmother’s, but it never occurred to me that OTHER things would be just as much fun! On to the next item, now!

  3. Why yes, I’d love some pompom pie! Is there any more leftover tinsel sauce?

    I have fond memories of Plasticine, pliable and cheap and multicoloured; spreading a dollar-store plastic tablecloth should help prevent the extra textural bits (sand, dog hair…).

  4. Definite proof one does not have to spend an idiotic number of dollars to make children use their imagination and have real, healthy fun!!!!

    • If you want to do the Play Snow, it’s a pound of cornstarch and a cup of baby oil, mixed together. It molds well, then breaks apart with a tap…the kids love it. I’ll bet Baki would play with it, too, even as big as he is :) Let me know how it works out for you!

Leave a Reply

