Damage Assessment

woolly thyme

The snow has come and gone. The sub-zero temperatures are gone as well, for the moment. A warmish day and a few spare minutes gave an opportunity to check on the damage the weather might have brought to the garden…

Some things didn’t worry me a bit, like that woolly thyme up there…as long as it drains well, it’s good.

English Thyme

I was concerned about the other upright thymes, and they do seem to have a bit of damage. We’ll see if they recover in the spring…

If the snow had stayed around to insulate everything in the second round of Minus-Something’s, there would be no worries about any of it. Sadly, we had a 50 degree rainy day in between, so all the plants lost their snug little blanket when the Little Man lost his sledding snow…

“OH NO! What are we going to DO, Grandmom?” he wailed…

chard

We’re gonna’ wait for the next one, Buddy…

Hey, that chard may have made it, too! Fingers crossed!

Sweet peas

Ok, here’s a question for you Flower Folks: Do Sweet Peas overwinter?

These are the first that I’ve ever grown beyond the seedling stage (I think they survived because they were in a pot with a collar to keep the rabbits out). They never bloomed, but grew masses of vines. They look pretty sad now, but they’re still green near the base… Do they have a chance of living through the winter?

And now, a HUGE surprise:

The Rosemarys

See that rosemary in the old white dish pan?

IT’S ALIVE!

31 thoughts on “Damage Assessment

  1. Wow – I’m as amazed as you are Marie! Rosemary is sensitive to dry cold though, so the freezing rain probably saved it, strange as it may seem! No idea about the sweet peas, as mine always get eaten by the mice as soon as they appear above the ground… I’m still wondering if winter’s coming our way. I think it’s making a detour this year!

    • Not really strange – I know that citrus growers will spray trees with water when a freeze is forecast to protect them. I’ve been experimenting with rosemary in lots of different spots, hoping to find the right microclimate to keep it alive. There’s still a lot of winter left, so it’s not safe yet…but I’m hopeful.

  2. Sweet Peas are one of my favorites. I’ve found there are annual and perennial varieties. I have some perennials that come back every year. We have some bare spots but still have a lot of snow. If Little Man gets north, we still have our man made hill for sledding and he’d be more than welcome to use it. :-)

    • I always thought they were all annuals, and that the ones on the roadsides just reseeded well…Can’t wait to see how these do in the spring!
      Little Man *did* go North yesterday, but only as far as Central Mass…no snow there, either :)

  3. The worst winters I’m familiar with are Oregon winters at elevation. The rosemary would get damaged, but make it. There were wild sweet peas on the roadsides in the summer, so I imagine some varieties have figured out the perennial game. We never got as cold as y’all just did though.
    That said, holy cow does your thyme look happier than any I’ve been able to attempt to keep alive!

  4. I’m as happily surprised regarding your rosemary as everyone else is.
    The snow has disappeared from most of our yard, too. Surprising how many plants, buried for a month, are still green. Pompei keeps coming to mind.

    • All of the mints have nice green leaves at the base…but I don’t think you CAN kill mint :)
      Got my fingers crossed on the rosemary, but I’ll be completely surprised if it lives out the rest of the winter…the sage looks pretty bad, too. THAT I didn’t expect.

  5. I guess we do not have winter here ’cause I have had the same rosemary bushes for close to 20 years!! My various thymes also OK and lemongrass surprisingly overwinters. Have only had annual sweet peas which don’t, nor do any of the basils or sage . . . guess -1 to -3 C is not very cold tho’ ;) !! But, please do not complain ~ we are into our fifth day over 100F with at least one more day to go . . . sitting in a sweat bath [sorry!] does not make ones grey matter active!!!!

    • Interesting – your lemongrass overwinters, but the sage doesn’t? My sage usually comes back with no problems…it looks pretty bad this year, though. Basil gives up and dies if you so much as SAY ‘cold’….
      I’m thinking about all of you Southerners right now. Poor Leanne (who is in Melbourne) had her air conditioner break in the middle of all that heat. I grew up in a place where we had 100+ weather for the entire summer some years – was quite happy to trade that for a few cold and snowy weeks when I moved up here!
      Stay safe!

      • [laughing] Oops, worse, much worse today ~ and I do not have an air-conditioner :) ! Sleeping in the nude I have always liked, sitting here in the library with a wide cotton night dress and nought else on in the middle of the day is not so funny!! Absolutely ‘dripping’!!! High twenties [?80s F?] tomorrow! With the price of electricity in this country, don’t know how anyone can afford to turn the blessed AC on anyways :) !

        • Ugh – I feel for you! Cold is better…I can always put on another layer. There’s only so much you can take OFF to cool-down in the heat!
          The high-20′s is going to feel like Winter after what you’ve dealt with this week!

  6. I’m sure that your problems with overwintering rosemary are down to weather conditions, but they do say that the plant only grows well in gardens where the woman is in charge…!

  7. You make me wonder if I should have just left my own rosemary outdoors and hoped for the best…. it’s near death in the garage since I never remember to water or get it closer to some light. Oh well, come springtime I seem to forget about all these things when I visit the first garden center!

    • Try it next year, Frank…they’re a pain to keep alive inside, so what’s the worst that could happen? I had one that lived outside year round for several years, with a nice Southern exposure, but one spring it just up and died on me. Didn’t want to replant in the same spot for fear of disease, so I’m trying other places…

    • Your guess is as good as mine on the sweet peas – I’ve never gotten them THIS far before…We shall see!
      Most rosemary cultivars can take some cold, but they don’t like prolonged sub-zero weather with no cover…I’m 2 Cold Zones away from being sure they’ll live through the winter…but I keep trying! :)

Leave a Reply

