January Thaw

Woodland Trail

Ahhh, Fridays…

No school for Angel, so both kiddoes are home with me all day. I try to have fun things planned so that we’re not just hanging around the house, but sometimes an opportunity presents itself, and all the pre-planned activities get shelved.

A sunny, 45 degree day in Mid-January cannot be ignored!

Signpost

Off we went to the Norman Bird Sanctuary for a morning walk!

There are miles of trails, a big pond, and a walk to a promontory called Hanging Rock (which has a view from the top that is to.die.for.), but we stuck to the flat land of the woods.

Much easier for Grandmom to wrangle two Small People by herself that way…

"We are the Lorax..."

At every rock and stump, Niko engaged in his latest literary obsession:

“I am the Lorax! I speak for the TREES!”

My little actor…he doesn’t just memorize these beloved books, he plays them out. Dr. Suess books are the best. At Christmas, he memorized nearly every word to The Grinch…and entertained every cashier we came in contact with by reciting it.

Much as I love that book, I’m glad we Moved On…

Sticks are always the best!

We walked for about 45 minutes in the bright, chilly sunshine. Found deer tracks in the mud. Stopped to listen to the birds. Watched a squirrel scamper up a tree.

Poked things with sticks.

Then it was time to head back.

Best Friends

Couldn’t have asked for a better day.

37 thoughts on “January Thaw

  1. My goodness those two little people of yours holding hands standing on the rock is about as cute as it gets. Great day and you were outdoors with no chargers required. Hope we get a few more but right now it is 5 degrees here. :-)

  2. What a beautiful place for a latish winter walk! And honestly you could ‘sell’ these photos to a magazine – they are so, so beautiful of the two so amicably and enjoyably hand-in-hand!!

  3. Oh, my! That last photo is perfection! And I love the story of Niko reciting Dr. Seuss–my mom was a first grade teacher and there was a lot of Seuss in the family!

  4. Great choice for the weather, those pictures are great! I bet they really enjoyed the exploring and getting outside for some sun.
    -5 here this morning in the mountains of Pa, hope it doesn’t make it over to you today!

  5. Oh my goodness what precious adorable darlings! Faces of angels! How much fun it must have been to take a walk with your grandchildren. My kids are mostly all grown up (high school and college), it’ll be a while before grandkids. I can’t wait! For now I spoil my niece and nephew who are 7 and 9. :)

    • Don’t mean to scare you, Sweetie, but Niko’s Mama was only 21 when he was born…sooner than you think, depending on the Gal! They’re a joy to have around, most of the time…but they *do* wear me out! :)

  6. Look at you, all pre-Springy and everything! Glad you got a respite, albeit a very tiny one, from the Polar Express. What a grand, fab-tacular outing! And I must say, how cool that you get to be grandmom to the one and only Lorax! :D
    xoxo!!

Leave a Reply

