More Spring Beauties (And a Flood Update)

Hi! I know you’ve all seen my lovely little home state on the national news last few nights. Ugly, huh? We’re fine down here. I’m thinking seriously about putting the poetry hat on and composing “Ode to My Sump-Pump” – it’s the only reason we don’t have four feet of water in the basement like some of our neighbors. I don’t even have any dramatic pictures to share! By the time it was safe to go outside yesterday, the water levels had dropped down from “Noah, build me an ark”  to “Garden-variety summer storm”. The driveway didn’t wash-out, the road’s drainage culvert didn’t collapse – we’re good! The rest of the state, not so much.

So, now that that’s out of the way, how about some more pretty pictures from the flower show?

orange and yellow tulips

Isn’t this a great color combination? So bright and sunny – just what we need around here after a long winter! And I love the fringed parrot tulips!

hot-pink tulips

This is eye-popping color at its best. Believe it or not, these were mixed in among the tulips in the above picture, and the effect was stunning. A slight shift in position for the photo, and it takes on a completely different tone. The serrated leaves at the left belong to a scented geranium.

shattered tulip

Here, you can see all of the colors together, shot looking down. Nice. Tulips are not my favorite flower to grow, but they do photograph well. This is the best picture I took all day.

Do you get the joke here?

This display was right beside the cozy-looking porch I showed you in my last post. I love the bronze statue of the fox, who appears to have just gotten a drink from the puddle on the rock. What could he be looking for? Something behind him? Something to do with the common name of the tall digitalis ? I’ll let you figure it out. If you know the answer, leave it in the comments!

3 thoughts on “More Spring Beauties (And a Flood Update)

  1. I LOVE the photos of the flowers. It’s hard to pick a favorite… did the peony smell as good as mine? The fox reminded me of the family that visited my yard when the apple tree was down. I think your bronze fox was checking on his/her family that was following along. I know you had a wonderful visit and got lots of good ideas for your own garden. I hope that the flooding rains did not harm what you had already done!!!

    MOM

    • DING DING DING! We have a winner! Thanks, Carolyn. I KNOW you can’t be the only one who knew that…

Leave a Reply

