Garden Sweets

Ok, so I had a birthday this week, and I made my own cake.

Some people get all bent out of shape over that. “You should NEVER have to make your own birthday cake…” they cry.

Here’s the deal: my Honey can cook up a storm, but he Does. Not. Bake.

Period.

And I love to bake, but need a reason to, now that hordes of hungry teenagers no longer scarf down every crumb before it had a chance to cool…

And these things were talking to me…

Remember these carrots? I dug them out of the garden when the snow was still thick on the ground. (The snow from yesterday is gone, by the way. Maybe for good? Please?) I’ve roasted them, shredded them into salads, glazed them with maple… and still, there were plenty left in the fridge.

So why not make a carrot cake?

Better yet, how about carrot CUP cakes?

Easy to share, and easy to freeze for later, so there’s no big beautiful leftover cake crying to be eaten before it goes stale… And space cleared in the fridge for the last of the winter carrots, which should be dug next week.

I love killing two or three birds with one stone!

Couple of notes before I just send you to the recipe:

Don’t be tempted to over-mix the batter. This is more like a quick-bread.

Nuts and raisins are ALWAYS optional.

You can grate that pound of carrots in the food processor. I just needed the exercise, so I got out the box grater.

I filled the cups more than 3/4 full. They rose beautifully.

This should go without saying, but I think I did it once – if you’re going to freeze some for another time, DON’T put frosting on them. Just wrap them up plain, in an airtight bag, and they should be good for 6 months or so.

And yes, the recipe for cream cheese frosting is with the cupcake.

Click here for Carrot Cupcake Recipe

7 thoughts on “Garden Sweets

    • So funny you should say that – I didn’t get a one from last year’s winter crop. They just disappeared…

      Turned out my Husky was digging them up and eating them.

      Fences are wonderful things..

      Thanks for stopping by – you’ve got a great blog. Added you to my list!

  1. I too am sorry that you had to make your own birthday cake. However, it really looks good. I don’t think I have ever made a carrot cake. Wish I could have tasted yours. Love Nana

Leave a Reply

