More Snacks From the Garden

I love leeks.

Just in case you had any doubts…

Sweet and mild, they make great soups and stuffings, and are wonderful on their own as a side-dish. Putting them into a lovely little appetizer like this Leek and Brie Tartlet raises them to a whole new level of deliciousness.

And no one will ever have to know how easy they are!

Start with about 2 cups of sliced, cleaned leeks (I’m not going to go back over how to clean leeks – we’ve covered that already. But I will remind you to get the grit out before you start!) and a minced garlic clove. Melt 3 tablespoons of butter in a small skillet. Add the leeks, and saute until they’re soft and translucent. Toss in the garlic, and saute it until you can smell it – about 1 more minute.

Lower the heat a little, and add 1/2 cup of cream, a dash of salt, a dash of pepper and a dash of nutmeg. Cook, stirring constantly, until it thickens. Only takes a minute or three.

When it looks like this, it’s done. Turn off the heat and set it aside while you prep the shells.

Start by taking the rind off of a small piece of French brie (photo #2, above). Don’t toss it – it makes a great snack. It just doesn’t melt well enough to go in the recipe… Cut 15 very small pieces to fit in your little tart shells.

“But wait!” I can hear you shouting. “How do I make those?”

You don’t make them. Thanks to the explosion of interest in cooking, these and other wonderful little goodies are available in every major grocery store chain in the country – and a lot of the minor ones, too. Just look in the freezer section near the frozen pie crust. There are several national brands – this one is called Athens.

So, as I was saying, cut the brie into 15 tiny pieces, one for each shell. Place them on a baking sheet, and spoon a little of the leek and cream mixture onto each one.

Run them into a 350 oven for about 10 minutes, or until they’re heated through and just a little brown on top.

Serve warm, and refrigerate any leftovers.

Couldn’t be simpler.

But you don’t have to tell…

Printable version of Leek and Brie Tartlettes

7 thoughts on “More Snacks From the Garden

  1. I had been to the store when I got your post…. I think I would have looked for leeks and Brie. Pictures are wonderful. They are a good smattering of life around your house.

  2. Marie, I saw your beautiful Nana this weekend and she tipped me off to a new leek recipe on your blog……I came rushing right over as soon as I had computer access! This one looks almost too good to be legal! Even without trying it, I’ve passed it on to my sister who does a lot of entertaining.

    (BTW, I’ve been assured that a 5 generation photo is in the works…..I can’t wait to see it!)

    • You heard right about the portrait – Mom and Nana are coming out here next month to meet the Niko-Bear. I’m excited!

      Hope you get a chance to try the recipe soon – they’d make a great Easter ‘nibble.’

Leave a Reply

