Summer Scheduling

There’s one thing you can say about winter in New England that’s absolutely true: it’s cold.

And because it’s consistently cold, sticking to a schedule comes much easier… One day for laundry, another for grocery-shopping. A few minutes with the plants in the basement every day. Plenty of time to try new recipes. Plenty of time to write…

Or visit the Monkey…

When spring finally arrives, it all goes out the window.

Almost overnight, we’ve gone from 50 and overcast, to 90 and humid. Storms pop up, vent their fury, and leave chaos in their wake. The weather forecast dictates all activities.

Overwintered plants need to be re-potted. Seedlings are ready to transplant.

Of course, before that can happen, the weeds have to GO.

But doesn’t the garlic in the background look good?

All of which combines to undermine my carefully crafted routine.

But, I wouldn’t have it any other way. The laundry can wait, the shopping done piecemeal. It’s growing season again!

Guess I can put the snow gage away now…

6 thoughts on “Summer Scheduling

  1. I never really thought of winter like that, as a time not to garden. As you know we are in winter now and there is always work to do, weeds to pull, veggies to grow. I do wish sometimes that I could wake up to a white world, it looks so beautiful.

    • Four-season growing is possible here, but difficult. Elliot Coleman wrote a wonderful book about it – he’s even further north than we are. I’ve made the attempt to put some of his ideas into practice, but my winters are mostly for planning…and shovelling.

      I put that picture in for you, by the way. A little vicarious white for your winter. 🙂

  2. Marie, the best excuse in the world to NOT do anything is a visit from your precious grandson!!! I am looking fwd to my 8 yrs old grandson coming to visit for a week (so you know nothing extra will get done).. My hubby’s cucumber plants are thriving so far–I am anxious to try the canning method you promoted last summer and so graciously sent me a coupon for proper method….

  3. I love that snow gauge!

    One of the things I miss about winter is the slowness of the season. Spring makes me feel rushed, especially now that spring has disappeared and summer as hurried in.

    • I’m beginning to wonder if ‘spring’ is just a myth… I’ve lived in several places – Oklahoma, Florida, Rhode Island – and can’t remember having more than a week of cool, gentle weather before the heat hits in any of them. Summer arrives in a rush, the plants race to catch up, and the gardner trails far behind…

Leave a Reply

