Tomato-Crazy

File this one under, “It sounded like a good idea, at the time…”

Perusing the seed racks in early spring is the stuff dreams are made of – especially if there’s still a foot of snow on the ground. So, it could be said that I was in a fragile, winter-numbed state of mind when I picked this up. SIX varieties in one packet! Honestly, no home gardener (that I know of) ever uses all the seeds in a tomato packet; it would be too many of one variety. Here, for $1.50, was the answer. A few of these, a few of those. Done.

But when I opened the pack…

There was no way to tell one from another.

Oh, I tried. Spread them out on a paper towel. Examined them closely, looking for any clue that would allow me to group them. There were some with similar characteristics…sort of.

So, I planted them all, hoping that they would present with different leaf-types so I would know if I was planting all one kind, or an assortment.

Yeah. Not so much.

One of them was obviously different, the others – who knows?

What I did know, was I had waaaay more tomato plants than I had room for, even with just this bunch…

Oh! Did I forget to mention that I planted other tomatoes as well?

Something had to be done…

First, I chose the ones that would go into the raised beds in the kitchen garden. Two Mystery Tomatoes, including the ‘different’ one. One San Marzano – gotta have a plum-type. One Cherokee Purple – a variety I’ve had enormous success with in the past. Planted, caged and ready to rock…

I also planted the seeds Hubby brought me from France – St. Pierre. It’s a determinate type, so it won’t get all sprawl-y like the heirlooms. I bought a couple of planter boxes to put them in.

So, now I’ve got double my normal number of tomato plants, and still more seedlings to deal with. I gave a few away to good homes. This is not as easy as one might imagine. Not because no one wants them…they’re my babies. They started under the lights in my basement… My son tended them carefully while I was away… They. Are. Special.

*Sniff*

Anyway, my friend and bartender-extrordinaire, Tom, has four of the mystery plants. He’s promised a full-accounting of their progress, and maybe some fruit. A couple of San Marzano’s went up the road to my neighbor Dorrie.

I can keep an eye on them there…

Still, that wasn’t all of them. These two – more Mysteries – are in pots beside the trellis in the vegetable garden. The plan is to train them up-and-over. We’ll see how it works…

Which leaves these tree little guys looking for a plot of their own. I have no idea anymore which batch they’re part of – at this point, I don’t think it even matters…

Maybe they can go keep the Baby Asparagus (Asparagii?) company…

(There are 9 of them now, by the way!)

14 thoughts on “Tomato-Crazy

  1. So many tomatoes! I have always wanted to try growing them. Sadly, we don’t have that much variety here in the Philippines. There’s only 1 kind of seed sold and hardly any seedlings in any of the nurseries. How depressing! Your garden is an inspiration! Thanks for sharing!

    • Ah, but you have other wonderous veggies that we have little or no access to! I can only imagine how wonderful your garden smells with all those gardenias in bloom…

      Thanks for commenting – I hope it’s not the last time!

      • I just subscribed to your RSS feed 🙂
        Do drop by my blog too for an exotic fix… I don’t have vegetables yet. Got mostly ornamentals and a few herbs. Just planted mango, rambutan and Chico saplings. Going for a mini-orchard!

  2. It is a shame I live half way around the world and that it is winter here I would volunteer to take a couple for you. I have never had any luck with tomatoes, but I know this summer is going to be different.

  3. Planting them with the asparagus is a great idea. The first two years of my asparagus bed saw volunteer tomatoes (the plum type) come up in between the rows. They looked too good to pull so I left them where they were and we got tons of tomatoes from them. The interesting thing is that I have since found out tomatoes planted near asparagus will help keep the dreaded asparagus beetle away (they don’t like the smell). I did have beetles this year, the first year without tomatoes near the asparagus.

    • OH, Thank You!!! I had already put them up there (out of desperation) so it’s good to know that they get along…

      There are 10 now, of the 16 I planted. Even if we don’t get any more, I’m thrilled!

    • I intend to. 😉
      I did my first-ever batch of canning last summer, and caught ‘the bug’. All winter long, as I opened cans of commercial tomatoes, I thought, “Next year, I’ll have my own…”
      Fingers crossed!

  4. Pingback: We’ve Got To Get Ourselves Back To The Garden…. | My Little Corner of Rhode Island

Leave a Reply

