Come Walk With Me…

Rise and shine, sleepyhead! It’s 6 am! The sun’s been up for an hour, and the day awaits!

Go get your coffee – I made a big pot this morning; there’s plenty. We can enjoy it here on the deck before we go for our walk…

Finished? Let’s go!

First stop, just the other side of those hydrangeas you were admiring from the deck. Finally got a few bedding plants in last week, on the one day that we didn’t have rain. Our cold, wet spring delayed its planting by almost a month, but it’ll fill in over the coming weeks…

Wanna see the pond?

Best time of the day down here. The early sun turns the surface into a mirror. The fish, frogs and turtles are barely stirring. Oh, so still, and…weedy. Sigh

Put this on the list of projects for the week…

Turn South, and walk along the hedge with me. Feel free to pull the thistle seedlings as you see them along the way… What’s that? You didn’t bring your gloves?

Oh, well… Let’s keep going. It’s a grand, grassy path, isn’t it? And, at the end, in all its morning splendor…

  The compost pile. An anti-climax? I think not! But then, I’m the girl who photographs compost piles in Europe…

Look closer. See that thing growing out of the top?

One of the fun things about cold-composting – aka ‘pile it up and let it rot’ – is surprises like this. Hot composting kills most seeds, so tossing old produce on it seldom results in giants like this. (The downside, of course, is that it doesn’t kill the weed-seeds either…)

Cucumber? Squash? Let’s find out…

Ahh, looks like a teeny-tiny pattypan squash!

Interesting. I haven’t grown those in a couple of years. Must have come back to the surface when the pile was turned this spring… Maybe we’ll get to eat one or two of them. If the deer don’t get them all…

Down behind the pile, in the far corner of the property, is a wild and wonderful spot. Once a year, it gets whacked-down, but right now it’s running rampant. Just look at how the dew shines on the leaves of the jewelweed. No little orange blooms yet, but they can’t be far away..

Watch your step!

You almost stepped on these little beauties! Maybe I should get you another cup of coffee… we can finish the walk once you’re more awake…

12 thoughts on “Come Walk With Me…

    • That’s a thing I never understood before I moved up here… The summer sunlight is SO intense down south, so white-hot that some days it hurts to look at it. Here, where the angle is lower – even in high summer – the light is gentler; softer. I’ve never been an artist, but now I understand more of what they mean when they talk about ‘the quality of light’. Autumn is the best…wait til you see.

      My hydrangea-love began in the North Arkansas garden of my great-grandmother. Couldn’t grow them in OK, too dry. I’ve gone a bit over the top with them, I’m afraid… 🙂

  1. THANK YOU FOR STARTING MY DAY OFF IN SUCH A DELIGHTFUL WAY!! AM LOOKING FWD TO MANY MORE POSTS…BY THE WAY, WE FINALLY GOT A FEW (like two) CUCUMBERS FROM OUR GARDEN–NOT ENOUGH TO TRY THE CANNING BUT DELISH IN A SALAD FOR LUNCH TODAY!!

  2. LOL, I began reading your post and it is 10 to 6 in the morning here, but it is black outside my windows, I won’t be going anywhere for quite a while yet, also very cold. I will have a cup of coffee though, thanks.

    • Let’s see, you’re about equal to where we’d be the end of December…Sun’s not up until 7:30 or so…and down by a little after 4 pm.

      Depressing.

      Hope it’s not too cold once the sun comes up!

  3. I feel like I have walked around the yard with you. Thanks for the tour and the pictures. I had great pictures from Sarah yesterday. It was 108 here today. I have to go start the sprinkler.

    love

    MOM

    • Happy to share the view!
      And really, it’s less about my green thumb than picking the right stuff. I don’t put ‘fussy’ things in my yard – if they can’t survive on their own, they don’t stay. The only plants I’ll baby are the ones that taste good!

Leave a Reply

