Frankinsquash?

Or maybe Squashzilla?

She rises up from the crown of the compost pile, her umbrella-sized leaves glowing in the sunrise. Her mother was a pattypan squash, her father… well, that’s up for debate…

Not exactly the flying saucer-shaped fruit I was expecting…

Members of the squash family (cucurbits) are, shall we say, promiscuous… The pollen from one variety can fertillize another. This doesn’t matter if you’re not planning on saving seeds – whatever you planted is what you’ll be eating if you buy fresh seeds every year. Most home-gardeners don’t plant entire rows of summer squashes – how would we ever eat them all? And, because it just makes sense to group plants with similar water and nutrient needs, the one zucchini plant grows alongside cucumbers, pumkins, and other family members.

And the bees go from plant to plant…

Then the overripe fruit winds up in the compost pile. Most don’t sprout, but the ones that do can be a fun surprise. Frankinsquash seems to be a cross between the pattypan and a cucumber. Interesting flavor, but not one I think I’d breed on purpose. More experiments in the kitchen are needed…

But there’s more than just a giant summer squash out there…

A dozen or more winter squash are ripening on the back side of the pile, before the ones I planted in the garden even have blooms. Pretty amazing, don’t you think? Maybe if I bury a whole watermelon out there for next year….

I hope whoever fathered these was tasty!

Spellcheck isn’t working…go easy on me!

5 thoughts on “Frankinsquash?

    • I’ve been trying to decide what it reminds me of, and last night it hit me – the Trash Heap from Fraggle Rock! Maybe I should start asking her for advice…
      You ARE old enough to remember that show, aren’t you?

  1. I learned something today!! I have never grown squash, so did not know that they would cross pollinate. Very interesting!!! Thanks for the botany lesson.

    • After I wrote this, I was reading a magazine article about a cake contest. The woman who came in third had intended to make a zuchini cake, but when she picked the first of her home grown – from seed saved the year before, she found they’d crossed with the sugar pumpkins!
      And it was very, very good!
      Hoping for similar tasty-ness from some of the others growing down in the pile!

  2. Pingback: The Return of Mt. Squashmore (Junior) | My Little Corner of Rhode Island

Leave a Reply

