Worried Sick

It’s not just an expression…

Sweet Cleo (in the foreground) had to spend last night at the Doggie Hospital for dehydration and a bladder infection.

Needless to say, I haven’t gotten much done since she got sick on Monday…

The nice vet we saw last night when she was admitted – our local vet doesn’t do overnight care – said she should be fine. Music to my ears; by dinnertime on Monday, I thought we might lose her.

Once she’s home – tonight, with any luck – I can get back to normal, too.

In the meantime, does anyone have any ideas for getting a dog to drink more water? I’ve never had one that didn’t have the good sense to go to the (very full, very clean) water bowl when she was dehydrated. But that’s what this one did…

14 thoughts on “Worried Sick

  1. not sure if it would work, but maybe add a little low sodium chicken stock to the water, just enough to smell. only issue then is keeping the other fuzzy from draining the bowl.

    hope shes better soon

  2. Our dog was recently so sick he wouldn’t drink water. Use a turkey baster. Our vet suggested this and giving him broth, because he wasn’t eating either. It was messy at first but I figured if he swallowed at least some of it that was better than nothing. By the second day he was slurping it like a baby bottle. We don’t have baby bottles in our house, but that might work too.

  3. I’m SO sorry to hear that Cleo is sick. I have no suggestions, but I think the broth sounds good. I hope she gets home soon.

  4. Sorry to read about Cleo’s troubles. I hope she’s doing better now. I can truly sympathize with your worry. My current dog, Max, is, well, accident-prone, for lack of a better term, and we’re regulars at his vet’s office, the emergency vet, and have called animal poison control 3 times — and he’s just turned 3 years old. Tell Cleo that Max says to hang in there; it gets better.

    • Thanks. She caught a rabbit this morning, so I think she’s better. A little bit… 🙂
      Don’t give up on Max. My husky-mix, Chloe, was like that when she was younger. She’s made it all the way to 12, and not showing any signs of slowing down. She still eats the occasional ‘stupid thing’, but no emergency visits for the last few years… Knock on wood.

Leave a Reply

