Ok, NOW I’m Confused…

Ummm, who are you? And how did you get in my garden?

Yes, I can see that you’re a winter squash of some kind. You are growing right where I planted those seeds…but I don’t remember planting you.

I *thought* I planted Sweet Dumplings. But you are most assuredly NOT a Sweet Dumpling.

If you were, you would look like this:

You know, nice and round…

But you’re not round. You’re oblong…

And, I didn’t save the seeds I planted from some past year’s garden…I bought them new…

So, what gives?

Um, Delicata? Maybe…

The real question is, did I plant something different, and forget? Or, did whatever-seed-company I bought this from put the wrong seeds in the packet?

No, I do not still have said-packet. I’m not that big a packrat…sheesh!

At least, I don’t see it anywhere…

Ah, well. No matter. Whoever you are, I’m sure you’ll be tasty…

Besides, there are at least a dozen real Sweet Dumplings growing in the compost pile…

18 thoughts on “Ok, NOW I’m Confused…

  1. This is so familiar! My neighbor, much to his wife’s dismay, is forever planting things along the fence that separates our yards. About this time of year, I start discovering all kinds of vegetables hiding in my garden. Beans on my lilacs, cucumbers among the day lilies, and last year I came home from a visit with my family to discover some sort of squash vine had invaded a tomato trellis. I can’t wait to learn what this year’s “invader” will be.

    • Part of it is that, being so far north, we have more daylight hours in the summer. At the Solstice, the sky is light enough to see by 4:30 in the morning, and twilight hangs around until 9:30 or so at night…

      Six months later, it won’t be sunup til after 7, and it’s dark by 4:30… it’s a trade-off.

      That said, I swear I’m going to throw a watermelon in the pile at the end of the summer.

      Just in case…

  2. I love Rufus’ comment..should I tell your secert? That houseplants don’t stand a chance with you ;p and the basement seedlings don’t count since they’re not really “house” plants. They’re just plants in your house.
    I hope this mystery squash is tasty

    • If you want a jar of those pickles we discussed earlier, I’d keep quiet… 😉

      Besides, Greg (Rufus) can’t convince anyone that he DOESN’T have a green thumb, and all he did was grow some garlic, and a huge rosemary bush…

      Looks like the squash in the garden is a delicata – they’re pretty amazing. So, no harm, no foul…

  3. Nana planted a package of mixed flower seeds when I was about 8. Okra came up, lots and lots of okra!!! She picked and fried the okra all summer!!

  4. Theman who sells us honey in DeWitt plants a oatch of okra besie his plaace for the bees to feed on.
    The honey iis delicious.

  5. My surprise this year was tomatoes in the middle of the yard. I can thank last years ground hogs for that. They would steal the tomatoes, eat a bite of two and leave them in the yard. Of course the gardens mowed over them. Really a good thing…I didn’t have room for more.

Leave a Reply

