Pity the Poor Plant Room…

All winter long, and well into the spring, the plant room in the basement bustles with life and activity. New seedlings sprout under the lights, tender plants have their winter vacation, and the garlic and squash rest here until they’re needed in the kitchen…

In summer, it’s a dump.

That’s no euphemism, either.

“Where do you want me to put this?”

“I dunno…just stick it in the Plant Room.”

Lawn tools, empty pots, a few mummified winter squash from last year…Just a mess.

Yesterday, I decided it had reached Critical Mass, and to save it from implosion – and get it ready for the Tenders who will be coming inside in a few weeks – I did an all-day clean-out.

What? Even I have my limits…

Organic detritus went into buckets for the compost pile. Weed whacker, hedge trimmer, chain saw and rechargeable batteries were banished to another part of the basement. Cobwebs came down…

Not hers, though. She can hang out and catch bugs for me.

Wiped down, swept up. Removed the old suspended ceiling tiles, and found where the mice were hiding the seeds they stole from me last year…

And poop. LOTS of mouse poop…ewwwww.

More wiping. More sweeping….

Checked the gro-lights – all in working-order for these two. A bad ballast on the tabletop one. Next time Ed the Electrician is over, I’ll try to get him to replace it – and teach me to do it!

It looked a bit bare once it was clean…like it needed some ‘personality’.

Hmmmm….

A bit of rummaging, and a bit of re-purposing…

The old mantle-piece from an old house Hubby used to own becomes a shelf, a small pine dresser (not in the picture) is being used for storage…

A perfectly pretty room, even before the plants come back to it. And a much-improved work space!

So pretty, in fact, I think it deserves a better name than ‘Plant Room’.

Any ideas? Leave them in the comments…

17 thoughts on “Pity the Poor Plant Room…

    • Oh my Gawd, Tanya! I am dying…what a great story! You have GOT to find a publisher for that book!
      Sadly, no way to cook down there…even my upstairs fireplace has ‘issues’ that render it fairly useless. Attractive, but useless…
      It was a long day, but the results were worth it. Besides, it was raining. What else was I going to do? 🙂

  1. I love the story of the plant room!!! I have no suggestions as to a name, I’ll bet Sarah will be better at that. Maybe next spring you could show us what it looks like full of plants and seedlings.

  2. I envy you your plant room! The spider? Not so much. Why not call it your “conservatory” but don’t pronounce it that way. Pronounce it in your best British accent. I’ve always wanted a “conservatree.”

    • All stuff I took from the other, much darker and junkier side of the basement…the desk has an enamel top, so it makes a great work table. It’s a bit on the wobbly side, but I love it. There’s a huge mirror in the attic that goes with the mantle, but I haven’t figured out how to use it yet…

  3. I looked at the first shot and thought.. mm.. i should send her a shot of our basement.. your plant room looks positively angelic in comparison! and once it was tidied up .. wow.. well maybe you should put in a fire and cook up some sausages!

  4. WOW! You did really great job in here. When I saw the first photograph, to be honest, I didn’t expect to find it like that at the end. Thank you, I am so glad to meet with you too, I found your Blog in dear Cecilia’s list, it is so nice to meet with beautiful bloggers, Thanks for her once again that made me to meet with you too. With my love, nia

  5. I love your plant room. I covet your plant room. It’s wonderful. And that spider? She’s pretty.

    I am dreadful at naming things (hence the alphabet soup on my blog when it comes to mentioning my husband, friends, etc.). Can’t wait to see what you come up with. 🙂

    • I wish I’d gotten a better picture of the spider – her abdomen looked like a harlequin. Never seen her knid before…

      I’m thinking along the lines of the Butterfly’s “Lab” suggestion, but don’t have it just right yet… Close, but not quite!

Leave a Reply

