Awards Season

Boy, do I have some good friends out there in blog-land!

Look what Miss Cecilia from The Kitchens Garden gave me on Thursday!

Then, on Friday, I got this:

from ChgoJohn, who blogs at From the Bartolini Kitchens.

Squee!!!!

(No, I am not to old to say that. My daughter told me so…)

Before I attempt to fulfill my duties on these two awards, let me tell you a little about the two bloggers who sent them to me. You may already recognize them from the comments they’ve left here at My Little Corner…

What? Not all of you read the comments? What is wrong with you? You meet the best, funniest people that way! *sigh* Just promise me that you’ll click on their names above, and take a peek at the cool things they do…

First, the Divine Miss C: She’s a transplanted New Zealander living on a sustainable farm in Illinois. Her blog is full of wonderful recipes and photos, as well as uproariously funny stories about her childhood.

Next, the very dapper John – perhaps you’ve noticed his tuxedo-clad, martini-sipping Gravatar? His blog is ‘jam’-packed with his Italian family recipes. Homemade pasta? Steak Piazzola? Fresh ricotta cheese? It’s all there, and more.

(Yes, ‘jam’ is a joke. If you read the comments, you’d get it…)

It goes without saying – but I’ll say it anyway. I am truly honored that they passed these awards on to me after receiving them.

So, now it’s my turn. I may play a little fast-and-loose with the rules, though…

First, the Leibster award. Its only request is that it be passed along to 5 blogs with fewer than 200 subscribers. I can (almost) do that.

Dirt and Flowers – Leanne Cole’s adventures in her Australian garden.

The Iris and the Lily – Bonnie Michelle, and her stunning gardens in the Mid-Atlantic region.

Peas and Cougars – Rae has a twisted sense of humor, but I love her…funny flow-charts, and some NSFG language…. (That’d be Not Safe For Grandmas!)

Pyrex in Wonderland – Ok, that’s my Butterfly’s new project, but I know of at least ONE regular reader here who shares her Pyrex-love…

Yeah, that’s only 4… but you get what you get. On to the next one…

The Versatile Blogger award asks the recipient to tell 7 little-known facts about themselves, then pass the award on to 15 other bloggers.

Facts:

1. I went to college on a Voice scholarship (mezzo-soprano).

2. My 6th grade teacher taught me (and the rest of my class) to crochet.

3. I can’t abide the smell of rotten potatoes.

4. I wish I had dairy goats.

5. I used to live in a haunted house. Yes. Really.

6.Tomato Hornworms gross me out.

7. I can’t dance. But that doesn’t stop me…

The 15 blogs part is a little harder…I’m going to throw three out there that I’m pretty sure haven’t already had this honor, and I’d love a few suggestions from the rest of you if you think of others!

Life on a Colorado Farm – Linda Brown, my first blog-friend.

Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide – Katherine gets to answer the questions this time!

Life in the Bogs – Amazing photos from Robin, who just finished her 365 blogging committment.

Check them all out, and keep passing the love along!

21 thoughts on “Awards Season

  1. Congrats to you and lovely to know more about you. You sing then? I can only crochet sadly 😦 And yes, I always read the comments and am now off to visit the blogs you mentioned that I haven´t seen before!

    • I *know* you read the comments – that was actually intended for a certain member of my household… 😉
      I still sing sometimes, but I was NOT cut out for the competitive world of professional music…Much better to be a salesperson and keep my sanity!
      You were on my list, until John beat me to it – can’t wait to read your answers!

  2. This is a great way to get to know people. I read all of your bloggers, including, of course, your Butterfly (my granddaughter). I found that I especially like the Colorado Farm by Linda Brown. We type to each other now. I have found others that are special but have not been able to get back to some of them. Guess I must start to make a list. I’m off to check out other blogs that sent these to you!!!

  3. Thank you, I’m honored! But what’s with this “twisted” sense of humor? I have a few gentle curves here and there, but that’s only so you don’t fall asleep at the keyboard. 😉

    Also, I don’t know about yours, but my grandmothers usually have no qualms about swearing, although they are mostly “do as I say and not as I do” types of ladies.

  4. Congrats on receiving the Versatile Blogger Award; you most certainly deserve it. And thanks for your kind words for my blog, though I prefer to think of it more as “jammin” rather than “jam-packed.” To-may-to, to-mah-to. It’s great getting to know a little bit more about you and, by the way, you’re never too old to “Squee!!!!”

  5. Pingback: The versatile wife | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  6. Pingback: Accolades « Life in the Bogs

Leave a Reply

