Beach

I’ve been writing this blog for two years now, and it occurred to me a week or so ago that in all that time, I’ve never taken you down to the beach…

This will probably strike some of you as odd, but I just don’t go there very often… Even though it’s just a little more than a mile from the house.

It’s not that I dislike the beach…it simply doesn’t ‘draw’ me like I assumed it would before I moved here. Growing up landlocked, I was thrilled with the idea of moving to a place near the ocean. I saw myself spending long hours on the sand, walking, or simply watching…

Learning about the unique flora and fauna of this new-to-me world…

And hunting for treasure at low-tide…

I used to chafe at the long indoor hours at my job, wishing I could be out there. But, now that I have plenty of time, it just doesn’t matter anymore…

The woods and fields are my home, and the beach is simply ‘elsewhere’…

So, you might ask, what brought me to the beach on this day, camera in-hand?

A plant, of course.

Another blogger – sorry, but who it was escapes me now – had posted photos from a garden she’d visited, of the “biggest rose hips” she’d ever seen…

I thought of these:

The first time I ever saw these hips on the beach roses, I honestly thought they were small tomatoes. I even wondered why I’d never come across a thorny tomato in the seed catalogs… Then, I saw the blooms. And SMELLED them…No doubt what they were after that!

Imagine the sweet scent of old-fashioned rose perfume, coming from simple, five-petaled blossoms that look for all the world like crumpled pink crepe paper…Mmmm, that’s it.

If I ever decide to try rose hip jam, I know where to go…

Oh, and about that treasure?

See the green ferns in the center?

Wild asparagus. On the beach of all places…

I spent five years combing the fields looking for some, and it was here, all along…

28 thoughts on “Beach

  1. Great post! I once lived along the lakefront and I never visited the shore anywhere near the number of times I thought I would when I signed the lease. Then again, there wasn’t the possibility of wild asparagus as a reward. That may have changed everything. 🙂

  2. Living in Florida and about 20 mins from the ocean, everyone thinks I too am at the beach all the time! Quite the contrary!! Tho I always thought I would, just like you! Life gets in the way, but when I do spend an afternoon there, I feel like I’ve taken a vacation and feel so good afterward. I’m going to have to “smell the roses” more often and be more observant as I walk along the beach!

    • Funny thing – when I lived in Orlando, I was all about loading everyone into the van and driving 45 minutes to Cocco Beach…now, not so much. Maybe I spent all my beach-time chasing small children around, and can’t see the relaxing part now…

      I’m not very good at sitting still, either…

  3. How wonderful to come home and find a blog from you!!! Which beach did you and James visit? I think I remember Sarah’s favorite, but I’m not sure. How neat to discover the asparagus!!! Thanks for the blog

  4. The beach is full of treasures, most completely hidden from the casual beach bunny. I know that thing of imagining the delights of having a great resource nearby and how much it will fill up life–and then never having time or thought for it. Story of my life! But it just makes those rare moments of catching up with such things that much sweeter. Discovering hidden treasure! Oh, yesss.

  5. I really enjoyed this post. Your beach is filled with all kinds of treasures. 🙂

    I can’t imagine not spending every day at the beach if I had a beach nearby. But then again, I took the pond for granted for a lot of years and that is just outside my back door! I won’t be doing that again.

  6. What very beautiful photos – I was there walking with you! How very funny about the wild asparagus…we get it here in the mountain walks and spend hours hunting it down. Then, last spring, we discovered we had a few clumps of it right in our little olive grove!

    • Isn’t that always the way? I found this the fall after I gave up and planted an asparagus bed…
      Glad you liked the photos. My son got very tired of re-positioning that tree for me, but I think it was worth it!

Leave a Reply

