Finally, Fall…

Ahhh, at last! After a highly unseasonable first month, we seem to have settled into a more normal stretch of fall weather…nights in the mid-40’s, and bright, sparkly days in the upper 50’s…the best time of year, hands down.

Which also means the last big gardening chores of the year – cleaning up, clearing out, and planting the garlic.

Let’s take the fun one first, shall we?

First rule of planting garlic: use the biggest, fattest heads from last summer’s harvest. When you re-plant the very best specimens of what you’ve grown yourself, you’re selecting the best-adapted genes to go forward into the years to come.

If this will be your first year for garlic, no worries! Good seed garlic is a s close as the farmer’s market, if there’s one in your area*. Small market farmers don’t treat their produce to prevent sprouting – the main drawback to planting supermarket garlic.

Since we’re expanding the garlic crop this fall – and I didn’t want to put ALL of this year’s back into the ground! – I bought a few heads from a local farmer a couple of weeks ago. I asked if he knew the name of the variety, and he laughed. He’s been replanting the same ones for so many years, he’s not even sure it HAS a name…

I’ve been replanting from my original batch for 6 years. I can’t remember their name, either…They’re hardnecks. Both of them.

I planted them on opposite ends of the new bed, with the California softneck between them…

All totalled, I think I planted around 150 cloves…I might have mis-counted, but that’s pretty close. Maybe, it’ll be enough to get us through from one harvest to the next…

Maybe.

Sleep well, little garlics! See you in the spring!

*If you can’t find garlic from a local grower, a seed catalog or garden center is the place to go, not the grocery store…who knows what they spray on that stuff!

26 thoughts on “Finally, Fall…

  1. My guy will eat foods into which a tiny-to-moderate quantity of garlic has been thoroughly melted but is generally put off by noticeable garlic (one of the earlier adjustments I needed to make in my cooking when we got together!)–but I think it’s such a beautiful plant as well, so am going to put some in primarily for decoration. Too bad I’ve got no showy granite curbstones to build their bed with; they’ll just have to show off all on their own. But thanks for the reminder of something I’ll definitely want to put to sleep for the winter here too!

    • Your guy doesn’t like garlic? And you MARRIED him anyway? 😉
      We couldn’t live without it around here…
      I do agree about the beauty of the plants; they’re also very early to pop up, which we all need after a Northren winter…
      Oh, and the curbstones are just poured concrete…the guy who built our house was just a little crazy…

  2. Great opening photo! That’s Fall, allright. I envy all of you garlic growers and wish that I could plant a bed. Maybe next year I’ll be able to free up some space. Hope springs eternal …

    • Glad you like the pond pic – i haven’t taken many of those this year, for some reason…
      Good luck finding some room for your garlic – it’s the most rewarding thing to grow. Stick it in the ground, walk away. Come back later and dig. No pest problems – even the deer won’t touch it! Doesn’t get any easier!

  3. Back from vacation and have enjoyed catching up with your posts. Love the pond photo. Can’t believe our leaves are covered with snow today and more on the way for tomorrow.

    • Funny, I was just about to post a photo my daughter sent me from Central Mass of the snow on their driveway…
      Got my fingers crossed that this Nor’easter goes elsewhere….
      Glad you’re home; I sure enjoyed your ‘romp’ through Europe!

Leave a Reply

