Merry and Bright…

…Is hardly how one might describe the world outside my window today.

A dull grey sky, with the promise of rain… Not particularly cold, mind you, but numbing, none the less…

Is it any wonder that we choose to surround ourselves in Bright Things at this time of year?

A wreath on the door, with a bright red bow…

Music and lights…

Heaps of ribbons and bows and gaily-printed paper…

Or the gentle tinkling of the bells…

Hoping ALL your days are Merry and Bright, no matter what the weather brings!

32 thoughts on “Merry and Bright…

  1. Great photos, Wreaths and bells and greenery make a home so cheery!!! I received my notice of a PIG for Christmas. What fun I will have telling folks about Heifer Project and my special gift. Many thanks to you and your hubby.

    • Actually, the only one from my house is the pile of bows…the wreath and the bells are the Butterfly’s, and the piano was in a shop.
      The shopkeeper saw us looking at it, and turned it on – it used to be a coin-op player piano. The window lit up, the keys started plunking, and Niko wanted to DANCE!
      No good pictures of that, though…

  2. The outdoor photos are very beautiful too, but wow, the warmth indoors! My version here is decidedly more limited in indoor holiday decor, not least because with El Maestro’s multitude of performances/concerts around now kind of eclipse most of the potential time for being home to enjoy said decorations. But I do enjoy seeing what everybody else ‘puts on’, especially those who manage such lovely treatments as the ones you show here! Thanks for sharing.

    • The only one in my house is the bows! We didn’t get a tree until yesterday…
      It’s now standing naked in the living room, awaiting ‘the treatment’.
      I went through a long period where I hardly decorated, but have picked up again in the last few years. I missed it more than I realized…

  3. Bright colors do lift our spirits when it is gray outside. Add something warm to drink and a sweet treat for snacking and I can forget about what the weather is like.

  4. I too went through a “dry-spell” on the desire to decorate for the holidays… it’s lovely to be able to bring “Merry and Bright” back to the holiday season. Lovely photos!

Leave a Reply

