Thanks, All Around…

The last day of the old year…a time for introspection, self-examination, resolutions, navel-gazing….

Nah. Too much work. I don’t have the energy…

What I do want to do with my year-end post is to say Thank You.

A few days ago, Claire from Promenade Plantings gave me this:

Reader Appreciation Award

Isn’t it cute? It’s the Reader Appreciation Award!

Seriously, where would we be without readers? Sure, you can write for yourself all you want – I have a dozen notebooks full of stories, poems, bits and bobs that no one has ever seen but me – but it’s SO much better to share…

Now, the rules for passing this along include not bestowing it upon someone who already has it, and “no backsies,” so I can’t give it back to Claire… As I thought, my delay in writing this  (can’t imagine what else I might have been doing 😉 ) means that not only have all my top commenters already been honored, but most of the ‘new folks’ have too…

So, I’m going back to the beginning. To the readers who have been with me the longest. They’re not other bloggers. They’re family.

A toast, then.

To my mother, who is still my top commenter. To her best friend of-more-years-than-I’ve-been-alive, Janis. To my Nana, and Great Aunt Sue, two Grand Southern Ladies who should be examples to us all. To my brother and cousin Carolyn, who pop in and leave me fun comments. To my dad, who never comments, but reads every post. To my wonderful Hubby, who almost never comments, and reads every post. Ditto for The Boy – no toast, he’s not Legal yet. To my Butterfly, the only blogger on the list, who has logged-in under more names than Carter’s has little blue pills…

I thank you all.

I also want to thank a special blogger, who should have gotten this a dozen times over. He’s the reason I found my way to most of the rest of you, and you, to me…All because of a picture of a bunch of carrots, dug from under the snow…

Thanks, Greg.

Happy New Year, everyone!

32 thoughts on “Thanks, All Around…

  1. What a wonderful idea! Your family is awesome for reading all the time! Fantastic. You take care and have a lovely few days , the last round and then we can all settle down again! phew! c

  2. How nice is this? Ending the year on a high note if ever there was one. It’s been my pleasure visiting you here and I can’t wait to see what 2012 has in store for us. Have a great New Year!

  3. Mom, signing in again this last day of 2011. It is a joy to read your blog. I love hearing from you often. I also feel like I know your blog friends, and I even respond to one. So thank you, for posting. New Years hugs for everyone in your house, including Cleo the dog!!!

  4. There is no one more deserving of recognition than you, dear Marie! Your words and pictures here have so enriched my life in the last number of months that I feel I’ve known and adored you for years. Congratulations and many thanks for all of the delight and wisdom you’ve brought into my life. Wishing you a fabulous, joyful, productive and peaceful 2012, in the midst of all of these marvelous and loving readers on your Honors list!!! 🙂
    xoxo,
    Kathryn

    • Same goes, Sister-Friend…Catching up with your blog in the evening is one of the highlights of my day. Thanks for giving me a place to think and dream, beyond the confines of my regular life…
      Can’t wait for 2012, and all it will bring!

  5. I’m still jealous of those carrots too. Thanks for that kind note. Did I mention to you that our dog got in the garden and dug a hole? He hasn’t jumped the fence in years and it’s a pretty big jump. He didn’t get the carrots, but we shall see. Anyway, happy 2012!

  6. Congratulations on your award! I really like the way you passed this on to your family.

    Happy New Year to you! Wishing all the best to you and your family in 2012. 🙂

  7. Thank you, Marie, for including me in your group of fans who love reading your blog. Congrats on your award…I look forward to your funny, wise, and uplifting take on things…am looking forward to more interesting tidbits in 2012. Belated Happy New Year to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

