New Year, New Blog…

Last spring, I got a bike.

Ok, that’s not exactly true…last spring, I decided to shape up a little by re-learning to ride a bike. I grabbed one out of the garage, and Hubby had it serviced down at the local bike shop. We bought an indoor training stand (last year was the Winter of Endless Snow) and I set to work.

Naturally, because I feel a need to publicly share my humiliation, I also started a new blog so I could complain to a wider audience.Β  It – and the exercise – lasted a whole six weeks…

So, where am I going with this, you may be wondering?

Most of you know by now about the recent addition to our household… She’s making improvements daily, thanks for asking, but it’s going to be a long slog. While that will change the tone of things slightly here at My Little Corner, I don’t want it to become the central theme.

Not everyone wants to read about potty training. I do know this.

That said, I really need a place to write about this situation. So, I’m resurrectingΒ  The Big Bike Experiment (likeridinga.wordpress.com). The title will stay…there are other things in life that should be “just like riding a bike,” and I’m hoping that parenting a two-year-old is one of them.

It won’t be filled with photos. There will be no tags or catagories for the search engines to grab. I’ll warn you: There will be ranting, and most likely some swearing. There will be uncharitable comments and inappropriate humor. There will almost certainly be poop.

But, with any luck, there will also be celebration and joy. I’m inviting all of you who read this to join me in our story – and I understand so completely those who aren’t into poop. The first post is up. More will follow…

What does that mean we’ll be doing around here?

Lots of cooking and gardening, of course! With perhaps a child-friendly bent…

Now, where are we going to build a pumpkin patch?

20 thoughts on “New Year, New Blog…

  1. Most certainly there will be “p..p” and that will be mild compared to other surprises that may come your way with raising a toddler. I am looking forward to your humor and your light side of life in 2012. BAM

  2. This is a wonderful introduction to your new blog. I certainly want to know where you put the pumpkin patch!! I look forward to both blogs and plan to read them both…. yes, even the poopy ones. With love, I wish you luck in your endeavors.

  3. Yep, I’m chortling away! πŸ˜€ Your pretty little bird, fortunately, however much she is into climbing at 2 yrs old, probably can’t fly over you at least, so there’s that. πŸ˜‰

    I’ll be with you in both places. Poop or no poop. πŸ™‚

  4. Sounds like a plan. Sometimes other things happen and we have to change and adapt, that’s what we humans are good at, or so I believe. Looking forward to seeing what comes.

  5. She’s adorable and, I bet, quite a handful. I’m off to check out your new blog. Maybe I’ll learn a thing or two about little girls that will help me with my granddaughters. I grew up with brothers, had sons, and little girls are almost a mystery to me. Almost because I was once one myself. πŸ™‚

    • I think there’s more variety in little girls… I had no sisters, but raised two daughters who are as different as night and day. What I know for sure about this one so far: She eats cherry tomatoes like they’re candy, and loves to RUN!

Leave a Reply

