Wildlife Wednesday

So, Wildlife Wednesday it is!

But first, a little about the equipment. Two of the tree cameras I’m using (Back field, and along the west boundry wall) are Spypoint model IR-10’s. They take photos both day and night, and write to an SD card. The third camera (also from Spypoint) is called TINY-W, which can transmit its images to a receiver set up to 50 yards away. (I’m not as thrilled with this one, but I might not be using it right. Yet.)

So, what did we get this week?

Not much.

Yeah, that’s our Sweet Cleo, chasing something – something that wasn’t photographed. She got in more than her share of camera-time this week…

Even Sweetening the Pot didn’t help much… After a few nights, the critters realized they weren’t going to get through the gourdlike shells on these hybrid squash.

This would be considered bad form if we were hunting for anything other than pictures.

That’s not to say we didn’t get anything…this guy showed up a few times…

And our friendly neighborhood Bandit came by once or twice…

There are also a dozen photos of rats…but you don’t want to see those.

Oh, and there were lens flares that would make JJ Abrams drool…but only for a day or two. The sun has since changed position…

Automatic cameras are cool, but sometimes the best finds of the week are gotten the (semi) old-fashioned way:

24 thoughts on “Wildlife Wednesday

  1. Yes, the pickin’s were a little slim this week but, I’ve a feeling, the real value to this will be in its entirety, when your collection of pictures builds over time. You’ll come to know and recognize the residents, the visitors, the new families. Who knows what else you’ll see? One thing’s for certain, Cleo is going to play a starring role. 🙂

  2. They’ll come to visit another day. It’s always interesting to see what stopped by for a visit, even if you have seen it before. Have a fun rest of the week.

    • The camera doesn’t flash, but it may make a sound that I can’t hear.
      Most likely, they just aren’t walking the same routes all the time…any ‘prey’ animal that never changes its routine becomes someone’s dinner in short-order.
      I love questions, so no aplogies are needed! 😀

    • They work on motion detectors, day or night. I’m playing with the settings, so we’ll see if we get more next week. There was a shot of what I’m almost sure was a mink (chasing the rabbits or rats), but it looks like a furry streak.

    • What I know so far is:
      Have someone give you a trail camera.
      Send said camera home with 20-year-old boy.
      Have boy help hang the camera.
      Have boy change the memory cards once per week.
      If having a problem, call boy…
      (I WILL learn to do it all myself, but it’s been tough with the Munchkin at the house. I’ll update when I know more. 🙂 )

    • I adore raccoons. One got into my birdseed on the porch last winter. When I looked out the back door and caught him in the act, he just raised his paw like he was waving me over to join him…
      We’ll see what next week’s photos bring!

  3. I experimented with this technique for a while using the Canon Hackers Development Kit (CHDK). A web search will turn that up. It’s third-party software that can be loaded onto just about any Canon camera and run scripts. One of the scripts I ran was a motion detect script. I am not brave enough to abandon my camera in the woods over night, so I just set it up on the huge rock in my backyard where I was feeding birds, stepped back 50 yards and watched. I got several bird photos, but never got anything real compelling. As you said… settings!

    • I didn’t know hacks like that exisited! I use a Nikon for my everyday stuff, but if it exisists for Cannon, there’s probably something similar for Nikon…
      I’d been asking for one of these trail cams for a couple of years…In true Hubby-style, I got *three* for Christmas. 🙂 Life got so insane right around that time that I simply handed them to my son and said, “Figure it out.” We’re learning as we go.
      Thanks for your comment – I love your photos!

Leave a Reply

