Projects Everywhere

There’s a box on my worktable.

It’s kind of a plain, brown box. A nice man in a plain, brown truck brought it to me a couple of weeks ago. I get all excited every time I see it!

Why?

That Neon-Green label in the corner.

No, not because it’s the same color as my favorite sweatshirt, circa 1984.

Can you read it now?

MUSHROOMS!

First Big Project of the year is the oyster mushroom patch. Later this week – if the weather gurus are right – I’ll pick up a bale of straw from the farm store to mix with compost and the inoculated sawdust in the kit. With any luck, we’ll have fresh, homegrown mushrooms before the end of summer.

Of course, that’s not the only project on the calendar…

With the forecast for sunshine and 50 to 60 degree afternoons, there are  dozens of them, big and small, vying for my attention. Pots need to be dumped in the compost, washed, and filled with fresh soil. Annual flowers need to be started from seed in the basement, along with the tomatoes. Pruning can commence – that’s a post all its own! – starting with the climbing roses on the trellis above.

This bed is also the Future Home of the Headcrabs.

No. I’m still not telling you what they are. Be patient.

Some projects are in the early planning stages.

After last summer’s Preserving Binge, (ok, obsession) I’ve been thinking about expanding the repertoire. I’m not quite ready for a pressure canner, but the idea of making fermented sour pickles or sauerkraut is appealing. March is my birthday month, so I treated myself to a 5-liter crock, and a recipe guide.

More details as they become availible…like, in August. When we’re drowning in cukes again.

Some projects are in Re-Think Mode:

There are not enough Nap Times between now and planting time to turn this mess into a pumpkin patch.

The search continues…

We’ll just add that to the list, right?

27 thoughts on “Projects Everywhere

  1. “Not enough nap times … ” That’s one way to judge a project’s duration, by NNTR, the number of nap times required. Those headcrabs remind me of dahlia rhizomes I experimented with a number of years ago. All went well for a couple of seasons until that one memorable Spring when I went to retrieve the rhizomes, only to find a spider had taken up residence among them. That year, my dahlia garden became another rose bed.

    • If only there was a way to standardize Naptime as a unit of measure! Sometimes they’re 3 hours long, sometimes 45 minutes – there’s no way to know which when it begins. I don’t dare stray too far unless there’s someone else in the house to lisen for her…
      They do *look* like dahlias….The only hint I’m giving is that they’re edible.
      🙂

    • I’m totally new to fermentation, but a successful year of pickles and jams made me want to stretch out just a little. I’m going to start with some basics this summer, and go from there. I’ll look for that book – thanks for the reccomendation!

  2. That’s not fair not telling us what they are. I am an impatient person, haha.
    So does the beautiful Angel like to help in the garden too, you could set her to work.
    Sounds like things are happening. I wish it was here.

    • She likes talking about “helping Grandmom in the garden” more than actually helping – so far. Once we start digging, she’ll probably enjoy it more.
      We *did* have fun putting sticks into the wheelbarrow yesterday…for about 30 minutes. I call that a success!

  3. I like coming home to new posts about your garden. LOVE the pictures, excited about the mushroom growing in your garden. I am safely home, slowly unpacking the van and looking around wondering where I left things…. like the TV remote!!! Oh, there it is…..

    It was nice, too, to find the video clip of Niko playing in the dirt. It is on it’s way to Nana.

  4. Right!

    And what fun! A gardening friend grew mushrooms indoors this winter for the first time. They seemed (to my perspective) to grow rather quickly. We are acquiring a bit more space (our roommate is finally leaving the nest) so perhaps I’ll have to have some fungi adventures of my own! (Ok, that kinda sounds like a bad thing…)

    • It’s my favorite kind of project – throw stuff in bed, leave it alone. Water every now and then.
      I hope it works!
      You’re getting warmer on the Headcrabs – they grow in the early spring like asparagus…As long as this weather holds like it’s supposed to, I may be able to plant them next week. I’ll tell you then!

  5. I will be very interested to see how your mushroom patch turns out. We tried that two years ago (with morels) and so far, nothing. Morels, I think, were probably far too ambitious.

Leave a Reply

