While the Rain Falls…

It’s a wet and windy morning here – the kind Celie at The Kitchen’s Garden has dubbed “A Bendy-Tree Day.”

So apropriate…Hope you don’t mind if I use it, C.

While the gardens and woods enjoy a much-needed drink (and a Favorite Uncle entertains Little Miss Angel), I can give you a quick peek at what’s going on down in the basement Plant Room.

No major disasters…knock on wood. Everything is sprouting, growing, and shooting for the sky…

Er, I mean the ceiling.

The moonflowers and morning glories are ready to go outside as soon as the nights are reliably above 45. I’ll start hardening them off next week. Why start such any easy-grower inside? Rabbits. They love to munch on these.

Never touch the wild, invasive, closely related bindweed that grows everywhere. Go figure…

The basil – regular old Genovese – has been bumped-up to bigger pots. It still has a while to wait before going outside. Low temps in the mid-50’s are a must for them, and warmer is better. Some of these are destined for my daughter’s garden…

The rest of the basils are sprouting happily under their little greenhouse dome.

Yes. OTHER basils. Four other varieties, to be exact. Purple, Thai, Lime, and Mexican Spice. I’ve never had the last two, and I’m curious what they’ll taste like.

Why so many this year? It’s all Hubby’s fault…sorta. Those wonderful French cucumbers he brought me last year are only available from ONE source in the US – and there wasn’t anything else in their vegetable selection that I wanted. Seemed silly to mail-order a single pack of seeds…Know what I mean? So, all those interesting basils had to come too.

Moving the garlic up to the new beds leaves extra room in the kitchen garden. Bell peppers will be one of the things to fill in their former spot. First year I’ve grown peppers from seed…

They look pretty good!

And now, the star of the summer show…

I managed to hold it to six varieties this year (details when they get to the garden!), and there are 4 pots of each. Two plants go up to the Butterfly’s house, which will leave me with…

Um, lots.

Good thing I learned how to make tomato sauce last year!

 

37 thoughts on “While the Rain Falls…

  1. Wow, it all looks so good and I am interested to know about how those basils all taste. We just have the regular variety here. I love morning glory but I donΒ΄t know what moonflowers are, they sound lovely just by the name! Ok, am off to look them up now….

    • I’ve had the Thai basil before, but not the others…guess it’ll be July before we know!
      Moonflowers are like giant white morning glories, but they open at dusk and close after sunrise. They just glow at night!
      Have a great trip, Tanya!

  2. It never really occurred to me before that plants would like low temperatures. We grow stuff here according to the sun, or how much sun it will get. I suppose there are things we plant in winter. I’m a little confused now. I might need to go and have a coffee.

    • Ahhh, but you live in a nearly frost-free zone! Some of these little ones are more sensitive to cold than others – the basil would turn black and die if the temperature went down to 40F and stayed there all night. On the other end of the spectrum, cool season plants like the peas stop producing and die back once the daytime temps are above 80F.
      Does that help? Or still need more coffee? πŸ˜‰

      • Always need more coffee. We do get quite a bit of frost, and temperatures around 0, just not cold enough for snow, or we are too close to sea level, or something like that. I should watch what happens this winter.

  3. Things are looking good, Marie. You’ve quite the variety of seedlings getting ready for the big move outdoors. My few are doing well and need to be transplanted to larger containers. By the way, I didn’t follow my own advice for wintering my rosemary bush and left it outdoors when the temperatures dipped for Winter. Well, it made it! It isn’t the prettiest looking bush but it did flower over Easter wekend. Yet another benefit of the mild weather.

    • More to come, too. Starting some kid-friendly marigolds and zinnias this week (although I may move the work station outside)
      Too funny about the rosemary…not only did the one in the basement live, but so did the three in the front garden!
      Is your rosemary against a south-facing wall? I had one survive for about 4 years outside. Leave it out there next year, but wrap it up and see what happens.

      • Frankly, Marie, if not for the few flowers, I’d have thought it long dead. It is the ugliest looking plant, of any kind, I’ve ever seen. I am going to try to nurse it back to health and we’ll see what it looks like come Fall. Right now, though, I’m planning in buying a replacement. I doubt if there are even a dozen green needles on the Survivor and sometimes I like fresh rather than dried rosemary — even if the dried is “fresh-picked.” πŸ™‚

  4. Everything is looking fabulously green and verdant. I’ve gone a bit OTT this year on the bell peppers, they were so delicious last year I just thought we had to have more of them, I’m not sure where on earth they will all go though!! And I adore Morning Glory so I’m looking forward to seeing that, and Moonflower, I’m trying to work out what that one looks like. Oh, and I don’t think it’s possible to ever have too much Basil (that’s what I’d tell myself)
    Great to see you doing a bit of gardening πŸ™‚

    • I’m the same with the tomatoes…there’s no way I’ll find space for 22 plants. πŸ™‚
      Moonflowers look like giant white morning glories. The flowers open at dusk and close at dawn, and – bonus! – they’re fragrant! They positively glow in the moonlight…
      If I ever figure out how to ge good nighttime photos, I’ll show you.

      • How magical the flowers sound! I’ve just looked them up – thank you Wilipedia πŸ™‚ and find I know/have heard of Datura and Ipomoea which are part of the group called Moonflowers. I hope they flower and bloom beautifully for you

  5. Loved this post. Behind the groundfloor flat I was living in years ago, we had a small patch of soil where I had planted tomato saplings. I can’t still forget the pleasure I used to feel going there in the morning and plucking the ripe ones. The smell of vegetation is something which seps into me. We moved to another first floor flat and I still manged to have a lot of flowering plants in pots on the terrace. Now I just have a small balcony. But I’m so tempted now to try and keep a couple of potted plants at least. Thanks for this post:-)

    • It would be hard for me to live without some sort of growing plant to tend. The smell – particularly with tomatoes – is transporting for me.
      Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you find a few pots to fill your little space with color and life…

  6. This all looks so great- I love seedlings. You are in for a whole lot of tomatoes by the looks of it! We had lime basil a few years back and it pops up here and there on its own now. It’s seriously yummy.

  7. Pingback: Seedlings on a higher plain | Promenade Plantings

  8. Twenty two tomato plants. I promised myself that I would control my tomato greed this year. I’ve got eighteen plants but I’m going to give some of them away. Everything is looking good.

Leave a Reply

