How To Make It Rain, and a Word of Warning

You could wash your car. Or water the garden. Or buy and fill a brand-new sandbox…

You could drag all the outdoor furniture up from the basement…which is what I did.

On Monday.

Hasn’t been dry since then…or warm.

Sorry, couch…maybe tomorrow.

Now, for the WARNING Β in the title:

A change at WordPress (no one’s saying yet whether it’s intentional, or a bug) has caused some issues for a lot of folks. When you leave a comment, the Notify Me of Follow Up Comments By Email box, is now checked, by default, instead of blank, like it used to be. If you don’t want a new email every time someone else leaves a comment, PLEASE UN-CHECK THE BOX BEFORE YOU POST THE COMMENT. There’s no way to go back and un-check it after you hit Post. I, like many others, have spent the last 24 hours deleting dozens of unwanted emails…Hope to save you the same fate.

41 thoughts on “How To Make It Rain, and a Word of Warning

  1. I’m glad you got some rain…. maybe next week for us. I received a direct mailing from WordPress after reading Fuzzy and Boomer’s blog yesterday. It asked if I wanted to receive a direct email every time they posted. I did not respond for fear it might be a scam. Anyway, I can find your blog and Linda’s any time I want!! Thanks for the tip, I just unmarked the one you mentioned. So Angel has her own sandbox? I know she loves that!!

    • I doubt it was a scam; there seems to have been some tinkering with the software on WP’s end of things. Hope it gets resolved soon…
      We have a sandbox. The sand is in the back of my car, waiting for the weather to clear. She WILL love it, I’m sure!

  2. OR, you could spend all week dreaming of spending a leisurely Saturday morning strolling about the just re-opened farmers market, only to have it rain non-stop and your leisurely stroll becomes a 2 minute dash to one stand and back to the car. On the plus side, I did get a new rosemary bush, tho. πŸ˜‰

  3. Thanks for the tip… I’ve been struggling with this today too!
    Another way to make it rain: plan a day in the garden and put everything else on hold… πŸ˜‰

  4. Marie, it’ sbeen raining pretty much non stop here for a week as well – th eground is now sodden for the first time in over a year. and the temperartures have DROPPED – it’s a cas eof jumpers and hats again! I think I’ll spend some time tomorrow morning in the greenhouse sowing some seeds to make up for the lack of warmth and sunshine!
    Oh, and thanks for the tip πŸ™‚

  5. Morning darling and I was a good girl and UNCHECKED.. mercy, i will get used to it though, your plants will love that rain and your baby will love the sandpit when it dries, what an excellent idea.. c

  6. I spoke to wordpress about that, and they have changed it on purpose. It is very annoying. Everyone needs to complain to them and tell them to change it back.
    Sounds like you have been having the same weather as us. Rain, rain, oh and more rain.

  7. Marie, I think I may have fixed your rain problem. We just had our yard seeded with new grass so it will probably stop raining. When you want rain you don’t usually get it. I’ll be dragging out the hoses real soon I’m sure.

    • Judging from this morning’s radar, I’m just hoping your new seeds didn’t all wash away!
      If we could get it to stop by Friday, that’d be good…Planning on going to Brimfield with the kids!

  8. Those are all good ways to make it rain. Planning outdoor activities of any kind will do it too. Thanks for the tip. I wondered why I was getting two of every comment from my own blog.

Leave a Reply

