A Simple Solution

Finally, it’s time to plant the warm-season veggies.

No, that’s not a current photo – those are last year’s cucumbers, growing along the fence. Growing them on a trellis wasn’t my original plan – the winter squash were supposed to be there, with the cukes trailing along the ground. The plants had other ideas…

Never argue with a determined vine.

Turns out, the ones that reached the fence produced better fruit than the ones that didn’t.ย They were easier to see, too, so I didn’t wind up with too many oversized, over-seedy cukes – a situation I’d love to repeat this year. You know, on purpose this time?

The only hitch in that plan is The Rotation. This summer’s cucumbers are supposed to go in a central bed. No fence to climb.

We’re making a trellis. One so easy, even I can do it.

Trust me, I am NOT that handy…

The beauty of this project is that it uses things easily picked-up at the local home center. Pre-cut pipes (4 two-foot sections, 3/4 inch diameter;ย three five-footers)ย and rebar (four two-foot pieces), a few fittings (two elbows, two T’s) and some nylon trellis netting.

First step, drive the rebar pieces halfway into the ground at five foot intervals. Measure carefully, so you don’t have to pull one out to readjust it later. Slide the two-foot sections of pipe (the legs) over the rebar that’s sticking up from the ground. Assemble the crossbar – T fittings in the middle, elbows on the end – and slide the fittings down over the top of the legs. Attach the netting, and tack it to the ground with wire earth staples. Or rocks, whatever works for you.

Obviously, not everyone has beds that are 16 feet long, but the math is pretty easy, whatever size you need. If you’re slightly more mechanically inclined than Yours Truly, the pipes aren’t that hard to cut (or so I’m told). Maybe you’re lucky enough to have a hardware store where you can find a helpful employee to cut them for you, if you want a different length.

Oh, yeah – I used copper pipes because this garden is close to the house, and copper is pretty. If I wasn’t going to be looking at it out my kitchen window, I probably would have used something cheaper.

Let’s plant!

27 thoughts on “A Simple Solution

    • Thanks, Jessy – and welcome!
      Yes, you can move it around, as long as you resist the temptation to join the pipes with solder – or whatever they do to join copper pipe ๐Ÿ™‚
      Depending on your soil, the rebar might be hard to remove, but not impossible. Mine is in a raised bed where the soil is loose, so no problems there.
      Happy Gardening!

    • I had to convince Hubby not to permenantly fix the pipes, so I can move it or change it completely next year…
      Fingers crossed that it stays up – I’ll never hear the end of it if it falls… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  1. I totally agree about pretty when you can see a garden! and i love this idea. In fact i am going to do something similar as i have some old fence laying about and some fence posts! I can do it! i want lots of gherkins this year!!

  2. Thank god you said it was a photo from last year. Picks herself back up off the floor!
    I too discovered the trellis and cucmber love-in. It really does make them easier to see. And copper pipes will look so smart from the kitchen. Looking at your lovely photos makes me want a kitchen garden on my back doorstep. Hi, ho!
    So yes let’s get planting !

  3. “Never argue with a determined vine.” Ain’t that the truth!
    Every year, my neighbor plants some sort of vine (various squash, beans, or cucumbers), and they have a better yield on my side of the fence than in his garden.

    Good luck with the pole beans and squash!

  4. Your trellis is great! It will turn such a pretty color of blue green over the years. Heading to Maine today with all my tomato plants…planting time is finally here.

Leave a Reply

