Trouble In (Squash) Paradise

The squash are starting to come in, one every couple of days…a perfectly manageable rate. No baseball bat zucchini, no canoe-sized summer squash.

Doesn’t look like that’ll be a problem this year.

Yes, the bugs are back, thanks to our too-mild winter. I don’t have the time to put up much of a fight this year. We’ll pick while we can, and enjoy what we get.

I’ve already made this twice…

Squash Gratin – Hubby AND Angel Approved!

Butter a small casserole dish, and sprinkle a clove of chopped garlic in it.

Slice up (thin-ish) two small zucchini, summer squash, or combination of the two, and place in the dish. Sprinkle with salt. (I had about 2 1/2 or 3 cups of squash slices)\

Pour over a pint (16oz.) of tomato sauce (Finishing up last year’s canned sauce) and throw in some fresh basil and oregano. Sprinkle grated parmesan over the top.

Bake at 375F for 25 minutes, or until it’s all nice and bubbly. I do this in the toaster oven, on the convection setting, so you might need to bump-up the temp to 400 in a regular oven.

Enjoy as often as possible, til the end of the season.

And pray for a normal, cold winter.

27 thoughts on “Trouble In (Squash) Paradise

  1. That gratin sounds delicious. I wonder how long your season normally is… I don’t get bugs, but always get mildew on my zucchini (no idea why, as the seeds are supposedly “resistant”), so we get plenty, but only for about 6 weeks maximum. And I really do enjoy them while they last!

    • A “normal” season for me runs from mid-July through the end of September or so, when the daylight hours get too low. I have the mildew problem with my cukes. I always plant too many, because I expect to lose them early.

    • It’s pretty awful this year. My three-year-old granddaughter has been telling me for the last week or so that the weather girl on tv is going to say snow…Maybe she knows something? 😉
      Thanks for commenting, and welcome!

  2. Squash gratin? What a concept! The fact that it carries the Li’l Angel seal of approval is one heckuva recommendation! As much asI enjoyed your post and will enjoy yourrecipe,Marie, I just cannot bring myself to pray for a normal, “cold” winter. As a Chicagoan, it’s just not something that’s done. Ever. Rest assured, though, we — and I’m comfortable speaking for most Chicagoans — will try to send you as much of our winter as is humanly possible.

    • Remember that the normal, cold winter is what keeps hordes of Japanese beetles from eating your beautiful roses 🙂
      I’ve also been grating zucchini into sauces for pasta…everyone likes that, too!

  3. I am Houston, Texas and I struglle to get my summer squash to survive the bug attacks…Lovely and healthy looking plants then almost overnight they are devastated! Thanks for sharing and I look forward to reading more of you musings in the future.

  4. I’ve hear dof squash vine borers (sp ?) and bluergh and boo hiss! and yes I’d be VERY HAPPY to have a normal winter – the slug and snail population is insanley huge this year, a fact I could happily live without!

  5. I love simple dishes that also (look like they) taste fantastic! Sorry the bugs got you. The bugs get my squash every year, but perhaps it is the distinct lack of “winter” and not my inattention? 😉 (I’d wager it’s both.)

    • We’re having no problems getting her to eat anything out of the garden, but she’s loving this one!
      I’ve given that zucchini up for dead twice now, but it keeps soldiering on – two new squash on it right now!

Leave a Reply

