Finding Our Groove

Subtitle: How a Hose and Some Blueberries Saved Summer…

Five posts a week, for more than a month. No produce rotting on the vine/bush. Beds in better shape than I ever would have dreamed. I even managed to get a recipe posted for the first time in ages… How’d THIS happen?

The Angel and I seem to have found our groove…

It all began with the blueberries…

One taste, and she was hooked. No more lingering around in her jammies, or complaining about getting dressed. She pops out of bed around 7 every morning, changes clothes, and off we go to see what might be on offer in the garden to have for breakfast.

After that, all the potted plants are watered. This might be the first time in recent history that none of them have been allowed to die of neglect. Naturally, watering plants with a hose or watering can leads to watering yourself, when you’re three years old, so lots of mornings continue on with playing in the sprinkler. I weed, while she plays.

On a really good day, we can stay out right up until lunchtime, then come in, eat, relax a bit, and go off to nap – or Not Nap, as happens more and more often these days.

Either way, she spends some quiet time in her room, and I sort photos, answer comments, visit other blogs, and get the next day’s post ready to go. Sometimes, I can also get dinner partially prepped before she gets up.

What made things change?

A week of Just Us. Grandad went to France, the same week Uncle James started his new job (it’s going very well, thanks for asking!), and we had to find a routine that worked. Fortunatly, that happened to be the week the first blueberries ripened, and her two tiny strawberry plants started giving her a fruit or two every morning…Nothing like fresh food to get a kid moving! The rest just followed naturally.

For those who may not know the story, Angel is my Hubby’s granddaughter. She came to live with us last December, and, as of now, will be with us for the forseeable future. Routine was something completely foreign to her when she arrived. The first order of business was to establish regular Meal Times and Sleep Times, then move on to the Weekly Schedule – Grocery Day, Laundry Day, etc. Simple first, then more complex routines would follow.

Even thought this ain’t my first rodeo, it’s been a while since I had a Little One in the house – my “baby” is twenty, you know – and there’s a world of difference between raising a child from birth and starting at 2 1/2. I made some frustrating assumptions, based on my own kids…like that I could work outside while she napped (not when I’m the only other person in the house, and she doesn’t understand how to find me if she wakes up) or that she would be thrilled to play in the sandbox by hereslf while I was busy nearby (she isn’t).

Once I changed my way of thinking, life got a whole lot smoother…

Blueberry season may be winding-down, but tomatoes are ramping-up, and there are ALWAYS flowers to pick and pots to water. We check on the pumpkins, and maybe eat a wild blackberry or two. She’s even been known to pull a weed or two…as long as she can help fill up the pink bucket.

Ah, look at the time! Gotta put on our funny, floppy hats now, and see what the day has in-store.

35 thoughts on “Finding Our Groove

  1. It sounds like you are both in a groove, and a good groove too! Happiness all round, especially from here as I get to enjoy more of your photos, your life and words, and long may it continue – I’m talking about the weeding and watering of course 😉

  2. I salute you, she´s a very lucky girl, and I am sure when she´s older she´ll understand how loved she is (although I think she has a pretty good idea right now). Beautiful post, so good to hear how well it´s going – your very hard work is paying off.

  3. I’m so glad you’ve found your groove. I’m not sure I’d know what to do with a 2-1/2 year old around on a regular basis. It’s been a LONG time (my youngest is 27). It sounds to me like you have very wisely found your way. How wonderful for you both! 🙂

  4. I remember those first posts of yours, Marie, when you introduced us to your Li’l Angel. Under your care, she has come a long way and she is one fortunate girl to have landed there, with you. And now, if you’ve time to post 5 times weekly, you certainly have found your groove. This is very good news — for you both.

  5. They do say that children love routine! Glad you both found your groove! I remember when the little Angel first arrived, she actually looks bigger in these photos! I think you also are an Angel Mari – an angel to watch over her.

  6. What a wonderful post, it is so nice to hear that the two of you are finding your groove and working out how to live with one another. You talk with so much joy when you talk about her now and it warms me heart to see that. I am so glad it is working for the two of you.

  7. I swear when you and toddles work outside together in the morning you always get a good afternoon break time and there is something to be said for being able to have your own un interrupted routine.. oh yes!! c

Leave a Reply

