Something’s Got To Give…

It’ll be a small miracle if next week doesn’t land me in an institution…

Wednesday is Angel’s third birthday. Her parents, who she hasn’t seen since Christmas, are coming. We have no idea what her reaction will be – or theirs. To add to the fun – and stress – we invited other members of Angel’s extended family, one of whom has already complained bitterly that the party is in the middle of the week, so far away from them, and insisted that it begin EXACTLY as scheduled so that they can get back home.

She coulda’ said no, right?

So, next week’s line-up goes something like this:

Monday: Drive up to Mass and pick up Auntie Sarah and Niko to bring back here. They have only one car, and Uncle Joey will need it for work. Buy party supplies.

Tuesday: Get set up. The Marvelous Ms. Kim will be here to watch the two rugrats while Sarah and I make trays of Grown Up Food and do general Party Prep. Pick up the cake.

Wednesday: Birthday. Gaiety, song-and-dance, here-we-go-’round-the-mullberry-bush….

Thursday: Take Sarah and Niko home, with a side-trip birthday surprise for Angel.

Friday (assuming no nervous breakdowns): Lunch for all of us with an old friend. At HER house, Saints be Praised!

Of course, the garden doesn’t go on vacation, any more than laundry, meal prep, and all the other household chores do. The Blog can, though…

So, barring any major disasters (or things I can’t wait to share!), My Little Corner will be back a week from Monday. I’ll pop in to check out your blogs, ’cause I’m addicted. When you see me push the “like” button, what I’m really saying is “I love you, but my brain is too mushy to form a cohesive sentence, much less a witty comment.”

See you in a week!

36 thoughts on “Something’s Got To Give…

  1. I hope your fears are unfounded, Marie, and that the party goes off without a hitch. You deserve no less, nor does the birthday girl, for that matter. Just be sure to set aside some time for yourself, no matter how the party goes. Again, you deserve no less. 🙂

    • I’m just hoping that my lists are complete…if I’ve got everything written down, I should be ok. If I can focus on that, there’s no time to worry about the other stuff. 😉
      Thanks for your moral support. You guys are my lifeline some days. Light a candle for me when you go to church this week? I need all the help I can get…

  2. Eventhough I don’t know the song I’m singing WE CAN DO IT too! Either that or Bob the Builder saying YES WE CAN. I will be thinking of you Marie, holding my breath and thinking, it’s only 1 day, it’s only 1 day. But I’ll be thinking of Angel, that’s a loooong time in an Angel’s life. Take care my friend

    • HA! I missed out on the whole Bob the Builder thing…James was too old to care when it came out. But, you’ve got the idea. Sarah was referring to Angel’s favorite cartoon.
      Send us all the Good Thoughts you can – they really do help, you know!

  3. I’ll be thinking of you too Marie. Hope it all goes well, and don’t get stressed out! (Go and visit the pumpkin patch if it gets too much!) It’ll be fine I’m sure (Ever the optimist!). Take care! 😀

  4. Cyber-hugs galore to you, Angel, and the whole crew! This should be a happy time for all, so we’ll hope and pray it is. Sending massive truckloads of goodwill and hope your way. And happy birthday wishes to the little lady, of course. 🙂
    xoxo

  5. In the words of Julian of Norwich……”All shall be well, and all shall be well and all manner of thing shall be well.” It’s true, you know. 😉

  6. Good luck! That sounds like more than two handfuls! I’ll be thinking of you and sending you moments of peace and quiet. (That may or may not get caught up in the winds and (hopefully) rain between here and there.)

  7. Does Angel know that all those people are coming for HER birthday? I hope it goes well, and that you have Sarah to help you. I might just meet you in that “institution” that you mentioned!! Hugs to everyone!!

  8. Oh my brain is mushy too… LIke, Like, Like for you.. I can do without my wednesday wildlife.. in fact don’t even try to drop in to the Farmy, if anything drastic happens I will let you know.. No parents Since Christmas? Big breath, Big fat nanny breath.. we have those you know! Oh how i wish you were just down the road, i am not good with people but i am brilliant with laundry and dishes.. c

  9. Sounds like a very busy and hectic week, concentrate on what you have to, we will be here when you get back, ready and waiting for the tales on how it all panned out. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

