The Waiting Is the Hardest Part

“So,” I asked my Favorite Farmer at last Saturday’s market, “How do I know when a Charentais melon is ready to pick?”

He laughed as I traded him my three dollars for his fabulous Walla Walla Sweet Onions.

“Well,” He began, “You want to pick them right before they blush. If they change color, you let them go too long…”

Um…ok?

“See why I don’t grow them?” he said with a wink. “Can’t beat ’em for flavor, though…You just keep checking them, ’bout every 15 minutes. When they ‘slip’, they’re ready.”

Checking them often is easy. Angel and I make a Big Deal out of counting them, and hunting through the tangled vines for new ones. And they grow so fast! The photo above is from three weeks ago. Here’s the same melon, as of yesterday:

Still not ready, but getting close.

So, we’ve added Tugging Gently to Counting and Marvelling…I’m dying to add Tasting to that list!

33 thoughts on “The Waiting Is the Hardest Part

  1. I’ve a sorta similar problem, Marie, trying to find the right time to pick my tomatoes. Wait a night too long and I’ll find it on the deck, picked and mauled by a squirrel or raccoon. Picked too early, and I might as well buy them from a grocery, where their tomatoes also ripen off of the vine. Last weekend, my neighbor insisted i pick this gorgeous Brandywine and I resisted, wanting to wait a couple more days. Well, she went on and on about the squirrel threat and I finally picked it just so I could get on with my life. One of the Boys Upstairs needed help, so, I put down the tomato and turned to him. 20 seconds or so later, I turned back to get the tomato and it was gone. Max had it and the neighbor lady was having a good laugh. I wanted to throw the remnants at her.

    • That dog of yours is something, John. I assume your tomatoes are fenced, or he’d be stealing them off the vine!
      Let em finish on the counter – they won’t taste anything like store tomatoes, beacuse you won’t chill them, even for a minute.

    • Me either. After talking to the farmer last weekend, I understand why…
      It’s a popular variety in France. I’ve eaten them there, and fell head-over-heels in love with them. I only hope the ones in my garden are as good!

  2. I’m so glad you posted about this! I just harvested what I thought were cantaloupes from my garden. I thought it was strange that there was no webbing on them, but at the garden center it said “cantaloupe.” After seeing your photos, I’m positive that I’ve been growing Charentais melons! I blogged about it and linked over to you, if you want to check it out 🙂

  3. Pingback: Charentais Melon (or Cantaloupe) Smoothies | This Bountiful Backyard

Leave a Reply

