And So It Begins…

There’s a nip in the air today…change is coming.

Our barn swallows are gone. They left a couple of weeks ago. One morning, the air was full of diving, wheeling, raucous birds, and by evening, it was quiet. I miss their cheery chatter…

The willow trees and black walnuts have begun to shed their leaves. They’re always the first to go, with no change of color for a warning. Just a startling crunch underfoot, then a glance upward, blue sky showing through the places where a green canopy hung…wasn’t it just yesterday?

The garden is winding-down, even if the gardener isn’t. There might be fewer things to bring in, but the still-producing plants are in overdrive. Right now, it’s beans to freeze and tomatoes to can. A batch of tomato jam (or two), and then the apples come. The weeds know no seasons, and the soil will need tending soon.

A dozen brightly colored winter squash are waiting in the compost pile, nearly ripe and ready to be brought in. The pile itself waits to be turned, the dark, rich soil from the bottom mixed with the raw waste from a busy summer.

Angel’s pumpkins have begun to turn. Before long, they’ll be perched on the porch as decorations, and we’ll be deep into the planning of Halloween costumes and Thanksgiving menus…

But not today. Today is for soaking up the now…watching the steam rise from a coffee cup in the chill morning air…getting reaquainted with fuzzy sweaters…filling the house with the aroma of roasting chicken…

watching the light play on the leaves…

25 thoughts on “And So It Begins…

  1. Wow, changing already it seems so early. I miss the changing of the leaves and the fall crisp scent in the air. Here in HK it is even hotter than it was in August. I can’t wait for November as that is when it starts not feeling like we live in an oven. Send some cool breezes our way….Take Care, BAM

    • This is my favorite time of year around here…I hide from the heat, but once it cools down we’re outside constantly. The Little One invented a game today…I spent 2 hours running up and down the hill in the front while she said, “I’ll meet you at the finish line!” I love fall weather ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I absolutely loved fall in New England. The most beautiful place to be in autumn. Although our trees turn beautiful shades here, and the air is crisp, it’s a bit soggy. Years ago when we lived back east, I used to take my oldest gal apple picking somewhere in MA near the Rhode Island border. Can’t remember the name of the farm but it was always so much fun. It’s been a few years, she’s now 20!

    • There are SO many orchards around there…and all of them nice. We go to one in Brookfield, MA, where my son-in-law has been picking since he was a child. Apple-picking is scheduled for the last Friday of the month, and I can’t wait.
      The camera will come too, naturally… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Beautiful! There’s so much to do, but it is a GOOD time of year! Love your post today, and agree with Claire – “watching the steam rise from a coffee cup in the chill morning air” is a great way to start the day! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Lovely photos…isn’t it amazing how fast the changes come one. The weather is changing in Maine as well. Down in the 30’s and 40’s at night, warms to the 60’s and 70’s in the day. The windows stay closed at night and a quilt is on the bed.

  5. I’m excited to follow you through the season’s changing. We’re in the middle of a drenching (nourishing) rain down here and while it means no garden time, it is our first sign of a changing season (from dry season into hurricaine-leftovers-season.)

    And as funny as it may be to you (it was to me when I first moved south from up north) we are also breaking out our sweaters and boots for the chilly temperatures (lows of 68!) =D

    • Not funny at all. That would be the Far-northern transplants who stand around in 40 degree rain, wearing shorts and saying, “You think this is cold? You ain’t seen COLD…” while thier lips turn blue. If it was this like this back where you come from, you’d be wearing more clothes, Tough Guy…
      Enjoy your rain. You might not be in the garden, but at least you have a chance to catch up on the blogs! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Exactly! And draft up a handful of posts to get up through the week myself.

        And I did used to laugh at the folks here who broke out full on winter parkas when it dropped below 50 degrees (while I was in sandals and a skirt) but since I’ve been down here long enough to acclimate…I’ll be in my winter coat when it drops below 50 this winter ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. The change seems to be coming quickly this year. I’m up to my ears in tomatoes and peppers. I’ll be happy when all this stuff is canned or frozen and I can take a rest. Not sure when that will be, though. The poor asparagus bed has more weeds than asparagus these days and I’m going to have to get out there and do something about it soon.

Leave a Reply

