Things Done, and Undone

The wind has changed. The tide has turned. On more than a few things, time has simply run out for this year…

Angel and I spent the first half of the week snuggled up on the couch while she fought-off the last of her cold, and I spent the second half trying to catch up on chores. She went back to school on Thursday (thank goodness) and today we’re going North to see Niko…

The pumpkin in the photo is across the street from her school. She and her class got to ‘visit’ it yesterday!

There won’t be any tomato jam from my kitchen this year. I promised to link the original recipe from Food in Jars, so here it is. My version uses a mix of chopped heirloom tomatoes in the same proportions, and I had planned on playing around with the spices – maybe giving it an Indian flair with cardamom and chiles. If you give it a try, let me know how it goes!

19 thoughts on “Things Done, and Undone

  1. I’m glad she is better and you can go see Niko. I think Sarah said you were going to pick apples. Get some good pictures, please.

  2. Glad to hear that Angel is doing better and back in school. And her class took a field trip to an actual field. Imagine that! Thanks for pointing us to the tomato jam recipe. It sounds perfect, especially using the yellow tomatoes. I hope I can still find some tomorrow at the farmers market.

    • The field is right across the street, and it belongs to the school director’s brother. He grows a couple of those giant things for the kids every year…
      Happy Jamming – I’ve got my fingers crossed that you can find some tomatoes! Last year, I used a combo of red and yellow, and it was amazing πŸ™‚

      • I had to get back to you, Marie. Yes, I found yellow heirlooms and, as a result, I just finished jarring 5 cups of tomato jelly. When I spoke with Zia this evening, I told her I had put up 7 cups of grape jelly and was planning on putting up some tomato jam. That triggered a memory of her Mother making them tomato jelly. Grandma would strain out the peels and seeds and she never used basil. Well, how could I not make it that way? Although I pretty much followed the link’s recipe, I also put the tomatoes through my Roma strainer. I didn’t pass them through a jelly bag, however. Mine was still decidedly purple from the afternoon’s grape jelly. So, the jelly may not be perfectly clear but it is certainly not jam or preserves. And it tastes wonderful! Thank you very much, Marie, for the link and for jogging Zia’s memory. I can’t wait to bring her some.

        • That’s so great, John!
          Even if you don’t do a jelly-making post, I hope you’ll put some photos up…there’s something SO satisfying about a collection of home-canned jams and jellies!
          We’re moving on to applesauce – and a new sitter! – on Wednesday. Keep your fingers crossed that both work out well!

  3. That pumpkin is huge, we never seen pumpkins like that here. I think people think we are quite weird, pumpkins are for eating, not decorations. We used them in all sorts of things. We don’t really do Halloween here either, so we don’t do the jack-o-lantern thing either. Does that make us sound too boring? I hope it doesn’t get too cold there too soon, good to hear Angel is doing better.

    • Not weird, just different from us…these pumpkins (and the others that are just used for decorations) are gourds, rather than real squash. The seeds make a wonderful, protien-rich food, which was the reason that North American natives grew them. The flesh is kind of stringy and tasteless, though.
      Incidentally, a guy from Rhode Island just set a new World Record for a giant pumpkin yesterday – 2,009 pounds! (If you ask me, devoting the time and attention to growing something like that is what’s weird… πŸ˜‰ )

  4. It can’t be all done. That’s what next year is for — the things we didn’t get to this year. Of course the cycle will repeat and other things will be undone. Oh well. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: The Ketchup that Came Down the Mountain | from the Bartolini kitchens

  6. Pingback: My Tomatoes Are In A Jam | from the Bartolini kitchens

Leave a Reply

