Trail Blazing

What a beautiful morning!

The Sitter arrived at 9, right on time, and fifteen minutes later, I was up in the back field, ready to start the day’s big project…

Re-opening the path that skirts the perimeter of the lot.

Once upon a long time ago, it was part of my daily routine to walk back here. It took nearly a year to make the original path through the brush, working in one or two hour blocks with my Erstwhile Dog at my feet…

It only took a few hours yesterday to make a wide open entrance to the woods.

It was a pleasant surprise, finding that most of the path was still clear once I got into the woods. The deer must be using it as a pass-through.

Well, SOMEONE has been using it…

With any luck, I’ll be able to take Angel back there soon. Her new waterproof boots have been ordered, with walks like this in mind.

We’re going to have to talk about Poison Ivy first, though…

It’ll be worth it though. The final destination on the trail is a magical place…

The far side of the pond.

Every kid should have one.

The 4 O’Clock:

Had to play with the angle a little to avoid the sun glare. Then the phone rang, and I had to rush. Sorry it’s crooked…

31 thoughts on “Trail Blazing

  1. Gorgeous photo of the pond – I’d love to see Angel’s face when she gets to that magical place… perfect for a little girl’s imagination to run riot! It really does look like something out of a fairytale!

  2. The path looks good. I’m glad you are walking on it again. As Cathy says, Angel will love the pond. Her imagination will grow every time you take her there. What a lucky little girl!!

  3. Love your parting shot of the pond. Tranquil place. How did you clear the path with a machete? I would have loved to have seen that. I hope you are not too sensitive to poison ivy… I just look at poison ivy and I need a dose of steroids to keep it in check. Take care, BAM

  4. You’re spoiling that Angel, Marie. You let her not just pick berries but eat them, too! She grows her own pumpkins and heaven knows what she’ll be planting next Spring, And now, she’ll soon have a path to her own, private pond. Just imagine the fun times she’ll spend back there. Yep, she’s spoiled, all right. Whenever will she find time to learn to play video games? πŸ˜‰

    • The Magic of Photography makes it look better than it really is, to tell the truth πŸ™‚
      But I would LOVE to take you around, and see it through your camera lens, too!
      (Give me a bit to finish it, though – ok? Right now, there are still spots where you nearly have to crawl…)

  5. It looks like a wonderful path, Marie, that will lead to all sorts of adventures. You could teach her the Girl Scout adage about poison ivy (which, oddly, I didn’t learn as a Girl Scout, but just learned this past weekend on a hike with a naturalist): “If it’s hairy, it’s scary.” I imagine that applies to more than just poison ivy. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

