Next Year, There’ll Be More Sun

Such a beautiful day on Saturday! The sun was warm, the breeze was gentle…

Time for inspection!

We started down by the compost pile…

There’s a lot more sky down here than there was last week…

Another of the big willow trees decided to lie down. It’s not in the way, so it can stay there until spring.

Or longer.

On the plus side, there will be more direct sun in the area around the compost pile now…Maybe we’ll grow more squash down there?

There are some other big trees down – or, worse, half-down – near the walls, but on the neighbors’ property. We’ll clean up what hangs over to our side, and make more compost…

The 4 O’Clock:

Getting closer to sunset. Check out the detail of the sun on the maple trees in the middle of the yard:

A soft, golden glow…

28 thoughts on “Next Year, There’ll Be More Sun

  1. The compost pile will enjoy having more sun. Angel is really on a mission. I’m glad she likes being outside. Have a good week.

  2. I haven’t been good at commenting the last few days, our internet quota is about to run out again, but we have finally convinced Dave to put it up, so I hope it doesn’t happen again.
    I really like the first photo and the last one, lovely patterns. Why have the trees all fallen down? Is it from the storm? I couldn’t imagine having such a big compost that you could put trees in it.

    • I haven’t even been able to read for the last 4 or 5 days, much less comment…I’ll catch up soon.
      Yes, the trees went down in the storm. Willows are pretty soft, so it wasn’t unexpected. Come spring, we’ll run the smaller limbs through the chipper and compost them, and have the big trunk cut into pieces

  3. I love that golden leafy glow, my pears are looking like that right now, the ornamental ones.. they are getting big too and john is appalled that they will not have actual pears! c

  4. Such a large expanse for such a li’l Angel! Our lawns are still green here, too, though that won’t last much longer, I fear. If you’re wondering where your leaves went, they’re in my front yard. My back yard was blown clean but my front lawn is where leaves come to die, apparently.

  5. I love that glow of light that only seems to appear around this time of year. I suppose it’s payment for the shorter days. I like the idea of the willow as a playground. 🙂

Leave a Reply

