Making My Lists, Checking Them Twice

Sarah & Rachel Duck the halls

I had an organized Christmas once…In 1991.

All the gifts were purchased by Thanksgiving, and wrapped the Saturday after. The tree went up early in December. Everything that could be cooked ahead for Christmas dinner was done and in the freezer.Β My girls and I (Rachel was 4, Sarah was 2) had time to make batches and batches of cookies…

Never happened that way again…

Of course, I never had quite the same incentive again, either. You see, that was the year that a certain Favorite Uncle was born…he was due in mid-December. My girls were excited about having a baby brother, but not AS excited as they were about Santa Claus.

Thanks to some careful planning – and the Boy’s arrival the day AFTER Christmas – they got both. And I got the most relaxed holiday of my life.

table in a store

This year, I am the Queen of Lists. Santa’s got nothing on this Grandmom!

There is the List of Gifts – complete, but for one or two items.

The List of Events – things we’re planning on, obligated to do, or really want to see.

The List of Projects – crafts, decorations, etc.

And, my favorite, The List of Baking – right now, it says, “Sugar cookies, Gingerbread Men, Hazelnut Cookies.” This list might continue to grow….

And, with any luck, the holiday itself will be a relaxed and magical affair.

Who Knows? We might even get another memory like this one:

Sarah the bag lady 1991

Sorry, Sarah. I had to do it…

The 4 O’Clock:

December 9, 2012 4 pm

Dark, and wet.

5 minutes after this, it started sleeting.

39 thoughts on “Making My Lists, Checking Them Twice

  1. You seem well-organized Marie! My lists seem to be getting longer rather than shorter this year! It’s looking pretty dark at 4 o’clock now. Have fun baking!

  2. Wow! Pregnant with 2 pre-schoolers and you pulled off the most organized Christmas I’ve ever heard of. I’m a list maker, too. I’m really good at it. I’m just not too good at doing things on the list.
    Seeing that photo of Sarah makes me glad that blogging wasn’t around a few years sooner. I shudder to think of the photos Mom would have uploaded.
    Sarah, I feel your pain.

  3. Dark and wet and cold. I’m already tired of the cold. But it does look like it is snowing in the mountains…so I’ll take it if we can have snow!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    http://deltacountyhistoricalsociety.wordpress.com

    ΒΈ.β€’*Β¨*β€’β™ͺβ™«β™«β™ͺMerry Christmas to you β™ͺβ™«β€’*Β¨*β€’.ΒΈΒΈβ™₯
    Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.β˜…β˜….β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœβ€

  4. lol! Maybe I should pull out a few old photos of my children for the blog. πŸ˜‰ I don’t think I’ve ever been organized for Christmas. Even now, when it seems there should be less for me to do. I have lists too. They are LONG (and make me tired just thinking about them…lol!).

    • There are some Classics in the old photo box, mostly of my red-haired girl…More personality in that child than in any 3 average adults!
      WHen looking at long lists, your red editing pen is your best friend…you get to pick what’s most important, and what you can go without this year… πŸ™‚

  5. Sounds like a relaxing Christmas, I was just asked about it, and I said, I try and pretend it isn’t happening until I can’t avoid it anymore. We are debating about a tree. That last photo is a classic, did you get into much trouble?

Leave a Reply

