On the I.R. List…

For you non-sporting types, that stands for Injured Reserve.

apple blossoms 4-20-2012

I tweaked my back on Thursday taking a not-so-little-anymore girl out of a shopping cart. With some heat and gentle stretching, it’s healing, but I’m staying off the icy yard until it’s normal.

Or the ice melts, whichever come first…

Young Beech Leaves 4-30-12

Angel’s been out to play with Grandad in what’s left of the snow, and she’s been doing the stretching exercises with me in the mornings. In the afternoon, we sometimes watch movies.

Right now, that means The Secret Garden. Every day, at least once. She’s crazy about it…

buttercups may 2012

It’s a long-time favorite of mine – as you can probably imagine – but I was surprised it held her attention as well as it did. Watching those gardens unfold on the screen every afternoon is magic to drive away the winter’s chill…balm for the soul, if you will.

First Aspapragus April 10, 2012

All the photos today are from last spring. If the coming season is anything like it, we’re only about 90 days from fresh asparagus!

37 thoughts on “On the I.R. List…

  1. I hope you don’t mind me saying but lift her out of the cart in two stages. Train Angel to slowly pull her feet up (with your help) , and slowly wriggle around in the shopping cart seat so her feet are on the seat in front of her, before you lift her out, (when their feet get caught dangling- trouble happens), then say bounce or spring and she can HELP you lift her out. That is one of the hardest Mama/Nana lifts and needs planning as the child gets bigger. To start this planning ask her to ‘spring’ or ‘bounce’ when you lift her up from the floor, so she gets the idea of helping with the lifting. We must be desperately careful of our backs in the cold and I find it impossible NOT to pick a child up, they are just so cuddly. She will enjoy helping too. I wish I could train my bales of hay to help me lift them. I hope that is useful and not lecturey, but it is straight out of my Nanny/Mama book. Have a lovely day, I also must do some stretches, my back is on the edge of being bad now that I am cold again.. much love marie, take care.. c

  2. Sorry that you are having a problem with your back. I like your thinking of asparagus only being 90 days away. We are frozen rock solid here…even the sunshine can’t melt the ice it is so cold. It made your spring photos all the more appealing.

  3. love the 90 day wait, doesnt seem so long does it. Gently, gently my friend. but watching the secret garden is a treat, I re read it recently, but I Have to ask how do you cope with the Yorkshire accent?!

    • You know, until you asked that, I never even thought about it. It doesn’t give me any trouble, other than ‘tha’ for ‘you’ – but I’ve seen it so many times now, that even that gets processed. Maybe because I grew up in the Southern US, where folks also spread their vowels and drop consonants – just in a different way πŸ˜‰

  4. The Secret Garden was one of my favorite books! Sorry to hear about you back, but it’s a good excuse to curl up with that pile of seed catalogs, right? Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  5. Sorry to hear about your back. Cecilia has a great idea. Wish we had known about that years ago!!! Take it easy, you are doing the right things to help you get better!! I’m thankful for Granddad for doing the play outside bit.

  6. I hope you feel top notch again in no time! Mmm… fresh asparagus. On Jan 5, 2013 7:27 AM, “My Little Corner of Rhode Island” wrote:

    > ** > gardenfreshtomatoes posted: “For you non-sporting types, that stands > for Injured Reserve. I tweaked my back on Thursday taking a > not-so-little-anymore girl out of a shopping cart. With some heat and > gentle stretching, it’s healing, but I’m staying off the icy yard until > it’s n”

  7. Oooh a sore back is debilitating. Also always remember when lifting something heavy bend the knees first and not the back! Get better soon. Laura

  8. I use the cecilia approved method of getting a child out of the shopping cart and I am the momma. I had to have the boys walk or ride on the edges of the cart (dispite the warnings that you should not do this kindly printed on the cart) at Costco as their carts are just too tall. Hope your back heals up quickly.

    I will have to try the Secret Garden movie with my boys, I loved that book as a kid!

    • The ones at Target are the worst I’ve found, but they’re all taller than they were when my kids were little…She’s still too little to hang off the back, but you can bet she’ll be doing it at some point!

      Hope the boys like the movie – the cinematography is wonderful, and a perfect antidote to gloomy outside weather πŸ™‚

  9. Sorry about your back. I know how awful that can be. The Secret Garden is one of my favorites (both the book and the movie). Can I come over and watch it with you and Angel?

    I enjoyed the spring photos. Only 90 days? That doesn’t seem so far off. πŸ™‚

  10. Oh dear, try to rest up and take it easy (mmm, easier said than done). I love that movie too but as Claire asks – how do you cope with the accents?! TheyΒ΄re very broad, even I struggle with them πŸ˜‰

    • Hard to rest – if you sit too long, everything stiffens-up. It’s getting better, though…
      The accent never gave me any trouble…I’m sure the actors speak much slower and more clearly than a Yorkshireman ‘in the wild’ would. Of course, I’ve also seen the movie a couple hundred times – my girls had it on videocassette when they were younger πŸ™‚

  11. Hope your back is fully recovered soon – it’s so hard to take it easy when you have little ones around. The Secret Garden was one of my favourite books when I was small – then I couldn’t wait for my kids to get old enough to want me to read it to them! Enjoy your movies in the afternoons!

  12. What a delicious thought – I love asparagus! Hope your back mends soon Marie. In the meantime, enjoy that movie… I’ve read the book (twice) and I saw a children’s TV version when I was very young – loved it!

  13. IR list? For a moment I thought I stumbled into one of my fantasy leagues, Marie. πŸ™‚
    Sorry to hear of your back problems. I’m far too familiar with them and you’re right to do your stretching exercises. I hope they bring you some relief and quickly, too.
    Love the photos you used in today’s post. A nice reminder that there is a light at the end of Winter’s tunnel, even if too distant to see yet.

  14. I love that movie, so do my girls, they used to watch it all the time, though not when they were as young as Angel. I hope you are taking care of your back, there is nothing worse than back pain.

Leave a Reply

