The OTHER Kind of List

seed packets

“Do you have the flu?” Hubby asked me Friday night, as yet another coughing fit came to an end, and I ran for the tissue box…

“No,” I replied. “No fever, no chills, no aches…I have a self-inflicted head cold.”

Huh?

Let’s back up to Wednesday…

the plant room

My Wednesday Project for last week was to go through the leftover seeds from last year, and get my order lists together for spring planting. Getting to the seed cabinet meant walking through the plant room – a place I’ve been avoiding since mid-November, when I decided I simply didn’t have the time or the energy to overwinter the tender plants that were living down there…

Call the Plant Police –Β I neglected them until they died.

In my absence, the Plant Room had reverted to Generic Basement, and was swathed in layers of dirt and spider webs…just getting across the room required the use of a broom to sweep things out of the way.

Which also made them go airbourne…which means I inhaled them…

See where I’m going with this?

Seed cabinet

I knew I was in trouble before I had even finished, but, in for a penny, in for a pound…I got the trash bagged-up, the compostables collected and set by the door, ready to go out once we get a slight thaw, and sorted-through the seeds…

Looks like we’ll be starting over with the veggies…that’s good.

Made a note NOT to buy any more larkspur seeds…there are four packs. Why do I do that?

Since then, as the wind has howled outside, I’ve been curled up with the catalogs, the tissue box, and cup after cup of hot tea…and making progress.

Although making the list is faster than getting the cobwebs out of my sinuses…

January 25, 2013 4 pm

Yes, Honey…I’m sure I’m not contagious…

35 thoughts on “The OTHER Kind of List

  1. Sounds like a big accomplishment this early in the season. I have yet to pull my garden tote off the high shelf and do the same. I know I have an overabundance of radish seeds, but otherwise I just don’t recall. Hope you feel better soon!

  2. I’m glad I am not the only neglecter of plants. In fact, I am a serial murderer of houseplants. As well as potentially having a flu virus, you certainly have the same disease as me – habitual purchase of the same seeds πŸ™‚ oh, and we are both subject to howling winds. Good work on the clean up, hope you feel A1 soon!

    • The worst has past, now that I can sleep again. Tomorrow should see the end of it.
      As for houseplants, people don’t believe me when I say I can’t keep them alive. They see the outside gardens, and simply assume that it works the same way indoors. Not so, eh?
      Our winds are silent, for the moment. Hope yours will lie a bit, too.

  3. Enjoying your blog very much. Felt very in tune with you when I read about the larkspur seeds, reminding me I need to do something about the chaos of me seed box before I order any more!

    • Thanks so much, Andrea, and welcome!
      I’m going to put the larkspurs to use this spring – really, this time. With a three year old granddaughter in the house, finding hands to plant isn’t a problem anymore πŸ™‚
      Your blog is lovely, by the way!

  4. Hope you’re feeling much better soon Marie. At least now you can look forward to the spring knowing that the cleaning is done. Enjoy your seed catalogue browsing!

  5. I’m sure you’re not contagious, too, Marie. It’s all the dust that you kicked up and nothing more.
    Will you look how bright your 4:00 o’clock view is? And if you took that shot at 3:00 or some time other than 4:00, please keep that tidbit of info to yourself. We people of the Northern Hemisphere need to see proof, real or imagined, that the days are getting longer.

    • I was thinking as I snapped it how quickly the light comes back…of course, the bright snow helps with the effect πŸ˜‰
      We’ll do a comparison between the end of December and the end of January later in the week. That will make all of us feel better!

  6. I hope you are feeling better now. It sounds very cold there. I love the bottom photo, haha, you knew I would say that, didn’t you? I also love the cabinet that the seeds are in, how amazing. Keep well, and keep warm. Take care, no more colds.

    • I’m all better, thanks…
      The cabinet is cool – I found it at a local antique shop last year, and gave it to myself as a birthday gift…maybe someday it’ll have a more attractive home than a room in the basement πŸ™‚

  7. I’ve fallen in love with your seed cupboard, it’s a job that I need to do on my return, but I’ll sit at the kitchen table with a pot of tea to hand and start in on the lists. Anything new for this year?

    • Hey, Claire! I thought you were only going for a couple of weeks…it feels like forever!
      New stuff…Hmmm…there’s a short-season watermelon, some extra winter squashes, and a few other things. What’s in your mix this year?

  8. Pingback: Getting organized | Words and Herbs

  9. I’m sorry about your self-inflicted head cold. I’m far enough behind that you’re probably much better by now. Yay! Looks like you accomplished quite a bit. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

