Last March…

March 15, 2013 4 pm

I’m so tired of winter…

The storms keep rolling through. The winds blow. The moisture – rain, snow, sleet – keeps falling. It just will not end.

Even worse days are like last Friday (above, at 4 pm).  They call to you through the window to come out and play in the sun, then blister your exposed skin with a wind that seems to have come directly off a glacier.

Last year was so much better…

Little Leaves 3-24-12

March 24th, 2012, and there were tiny leaves on most of the trees and shrubs. These wild crabapples were particularly photogenic that morning.

Garlic 2012

The garlic bed last spring – same day.

I was going to take a current shot for comparison, but the sprouts are just barely above ground. Until you get right down next to them, the bed looks empty.

peas 3-24-2012

A row of peas. Not just planted, not just sprouted, but growing heartily, on the 24th of March. The same bed right now is too wet to even weed.

Yet another winter storm will hit the area tonight. A couple inches of slush for us before it turns to all rain, and 24 hours of brutal coastal wind. Further north where my daughter and her family live (and Kate, and Momshieb, and Karen, and Judy, and more) they’re expecting 10 to 14 inches of snow…

3-24-2012

Eventually, it’ll be over. And the flowers will come back…

41 thoughts on “Last March…

  1. Yes, sad but true, we are getting ready for the storm – again. We’ll be boiling sap today in really cold temps in order to get ready to plow and shovel tomorrow. It seems worse since the calendar says it will be spring this week. Stay safe and warm.

  2. I’ve had enough too – my optimism is fading as more sleet and snow is forecast for this week. But the flowers will come back, as you say. Just have to sit out another couple of weeks! Lovely photo of the daffodils – something to look forward to!

  3. I couldn’t believe my ears when I heard the forecast on the radio this morning. This better be the last snow. I don’t know how much more of this I can take!

  4. Yes, last year’s weather was wonderful, wasn’t it? The flowers are coming, sure enough, it’s just taking a bit longer to get from point A to point B. Those daffs, though, sure are a sight! Can’t wait to see them around here!

  5. We were teased by spring last week but winter returned yesterday. The good news is that the peonies that the **** yard man cut down last year, have sprouted!! I may not allow them to bloom since it takes energy from the plant, already weak from having the leaves taken off very early. Let me know what you think.

    • Oh, I’m so glad the peonies are back! They’re pretty hard to kill – sometimes they’re the only things left from old homesteads around here…
      Don’t fret too much about stripping the buds…they’ll be fine.

  6. Will march go out like a lamb do you think!? You said it all for me, however we are meant to be pleased that the mean sun and wind is not whipping all that moisture out of the soil too soon.. i am TRYING to be pleased! c

  7. I’m with you! My husband and I are ready to move south, the gulf or maybe Austin! But alas, it may be another five years! I hope I can hold out or Maybe we will have a series of winters like last year!!!!

    • I can’t go back to living down south, even if it means shorter and milder winters…though I’d gladly trade these drawn-out days-long storms for a quick-and-brutal southwestern thunderstorm!
      Good to hear from you, Bonnie!

  8. I have to keep reminding myself of that, too (that it will eventually be over). We’re under a winter storm warning here today. Snow, sleet, ice, wind. Enough already! I’m going to sit here and look at your beautiful daffs and pretend winter is over. 🙂

    • Trust me, so do I. I feel bad complaining about it, but at this rate, the ground won’t dry enough to get the tractor into the back field before mid-May, and it’ll be needed to get the winter damage out of the way…

  9. We are thinking the same, but it has been the heat for us, it has dragged on and on. We are finally getting some cooler weather now, but still, we are wearing out summer clothes. I wonder if we are in for a similar winter.

Leave a Reply

