The Gardens on the First of July

Roots and greens

Can it be July already? The year is half-gone?

Let’s take a quick tour, starting with the kitchen garden right outside the Swallows’ Door…

Lush growth on the beets right there in the front, with one of the three surviving peas on the right. The rabbits got most of my pea plant, and continue to nibble on what’s left…We’ll have a few to snack on. Or rather, Angel will…

Beyond the beets, the chard is splendid. On beyond that, the second arugula planting is nearing harvest size, and the carrots already look better than anything that grew in here last year…

tomatoes and peppers

Tomatoes, peppers and basils in this bed. Everyone is happy, sturdy and strong except the jalapenoes. They don’t seem fond of our on-again, off-again summer weather (pouring rain again today, and only in the mid-70’s.) There are blooms on the bell peppers and lots of new growth on the basil transplants…

Cherry tomatoes - still green

As well as loads of green cherry-type tomatoes (first blossoms on the main crop’s are opening now). The sun needs to come back if we’re going to have even one tiny ripe tomato for the 4th…

We were so close. Sigh…

cucumbers

Cucumber seedlings have been in the ground for about 2 weeks, and are beginning to vine.

Yes, I planted too many. Again. The memory of Lost Crops (to wilt or bugs) haunts me…

But, hey! Lots of pickles!

Watermelon-to-be

In the next bed over, this year’s Big Experiment appears to be thriving. No long shot of the bed – they’re too little to see.

What are they? With any luck, they’ll be watermelons. That’s the real long shot in this very odd summer!

beans and zucchini

Last of the five beds in the kitchen garden: beans and zucchini. (And weeds. Note to self: get the straw and newspaper on the bare earth as early as possible in the spring. The last one covered is having the most trouble with stuff growing around the edges.) The zucchini are coming along in spite of the weather…

bean bud

And the pole beans have buds!

Well, there’s still more to see, but the chores are calling. We’ll take a peek at the fruit bushes and the Upper Gardens a little later in the week.

Apple tree, in need of attention

Right now, I have to go thin the apples on the little tree…

38 thoughts on “The Gardens on the First of July

  1. Yay! A tour! Your tomato bed looks so nice and organised and the basil plants look so healthy. I think I planted my basil out too early because I can’t find any if it now – must have shrivelled up or been eaten by a chicken. And that chard looks set to conquer the world! What the heck it’s all really exciting – thanks for the peek.

    • I had to break down and buy basil seedlings – the ones I planted are coming along so slowly! They should be ready to go in about the time these are finished…
      One of the ‘requirements’ of the kitchen garden is that it be somewhat attractive (Hubby’s, not mine!) since it can be seen from the house. I have another tomato bed that’s much less organized πŸ™‚

  2. Everything looks lush! Like your tomato cages and envy your tiny tomatoes. Weeds? Well, don’t we all have weeds and especially when it rains up here every 3-4 hours and the rest of the time it is so humid you can hardly breathe out there. June was a strange month and July is starting the same way but I’m holding out hope – we always have to hope for good gardening weather. πŸ™‚

    • For the first morning in what feels like forever, the breeze is cool and it doesn’t look like it’s about to pour! πŸ˜€
      The tomato cages came from Job Lot! I’ve been using them for about 3 years, and they’re wicked-sturdy! Even Hurricane Sandy didn’t knock them over πŸ˜€

  3. Man, now I’m depressed! We are at least a month behind you up here, and my garden is a tiny, neglected, sad little mud puddle compared to yours. I have, wait for it……a grand total of 6 blossoms on 6 tomato plants…..:-(

    • Cut yourself some slack! Until 2 weeks ago, you were still working full-time…Hubby had this garden built for me several years ago so I could get an earlier start. We live in a swamp, you know…the rest of the yard is almost too wet to get the mower into!

  4. If I understand well, the vegeterian season will be good ?
    With a lot of work, but much pleasure !…outside and Inside after !

  5. Oh wow it all looks so happy and healthy! We don’t have any little tomatoes yet, just flowers but hopefully we’ll catch you up (we were late planting). The chard and beets look amazing, so much hard work but it’s paying off πŸ™‚

  6. You really should take a bow! Your plants do love you, but then look at those wellmulched beds! Wish I could get my basil to grow as lustily πŸ™‚ !

    • Depends on the year. I’ve never seen my trees so laden with fruit…It sheds some of the excess on its own, but not enough. The apples will be better quality – and the branches won’t break! – if they’re thinned. The big tree is on its own, though – I don’t have time to be up on the ladder!

    • Eh…the green just happens when it rains EVERY DAY FOR A WEEK. June was the second-wettest on record – 10.08 inches for the official total.
      I want a giant fan, so I can blow it back to you in Colorado!

  7. Your gardens look great, Marie! And don’t worry about those weeds…not with as busy as you are. Here in Maine we are struggling with the weather. There were 18 days of rain in June (the second rainiest in 142 years) and naturally it has rained the first 2 days this month.

    • Thanks, Karen. Second-wettest here, too – 10.08 inches for the official total in Providence, and I suspect higher down here on the coast. This morning, the sun is out for the first time in what feels like forever πŸ™‚

  8. Wow! Could be a bumper harvest! Those tomatoes are looking good Marie. Mine have caught up a lot and are forming flowers, so I’m happy. The chard and beets also look very healthy – the weather suits them at least! πŸ˜‰

  9. July 1st kinda snuck up on us. Your garden is doing so well, Marie, far better than any around here. How I would love to have space for growing some chard! Next to tomatoes, chard is what gardening is all about. I will have a few cherry tomatoes to pick on the 4th. Now that’s a surprise. Too bad about the peas, though. I hope that’s all they get.

  10. Your garden looks great! I love the raised beds and the supports for your tomatoes. I know what you mean about planting too manycucumbers. When I lose a lot of a crop, I tend to overcompensate the next year. It must be in our DNA to do this.

    • I can’t count how many cucumber crops I’ve lost – some, before they ever started! The worst was the year that an August hurricane salted them with spray from the ocean, and everything shriveled and died…I said at the time that there was a joke to be made about pre-brined pickles, but I was too depressed to make it…

Leave a Reply

