The Gardens on the First of July, Part Two

red currants

Oh, my…I promised last week that I would show the rest of the gardens, didn’t I? All the pictures were taken then, and if I don’t get them posted, today, they’ll bear no resemblance to what’s actually out there!

Let’s start with the red currants! Best crop yet – two whole pints. I’ve got to find time to move this bush…

black currants

Right next to them, black currants. LOADED with fruit! Angel and I have picked several pints all ready, and there are still eleventy-billion on the bush…she likes to eat them, but has left me plenty to make a fruity sauce to go on pork chops (still looking for a good recipe – anyone have an idea?)

blueberries

The blueberries had just started to color-up last week when I took this…we’ve been picking for two days now! There are even a few left in the fridge!

Now, to the upper gardens:

more tomatoes

Ok…so the weeds are a bit bad, but inside those garish-colored tomato cages (that’s what I get for letting an almost-four-year-old girl pick them out!) are eight more tomato plants. The deer ‘pruned’ them right after I planted, but once we caged them, we didn’t have any more trouble. They’re all in bloom!

For longtime readers: these are growing in the bed where Angel had her pumpkins last year…

asparagus flowers

Next bed over is the asparagus – long-since gone to fern, and blooming like crazy. There are a few cherry tomatoes tucked in here, too…someone (was it you, Robin?) told me they help repel asparagus beetles. I haven’t seen any, so at least it doesn’t hurt!

asparagus seed

Ever see an asparagus berry? They turn red later…

Garlic scapes

And last of all (for now) we come to the garlic bed. Half-harvested as of last Wednesday – the softnecks come out first – and the hardnecks will probably be coming out tomorrow…

That leaves just my Backfield Experiment…

into the wild...

We’ll leave that juuuust a bit longer…

 

36 thoughts on “The Gardens on the First of July, Part Two

  1. Yep, that was me. Amazing how well that works, isn’t it? Now that I’ve finally located the asparagus bed here, I’ll have to get some tomatoes out there next year. Looks like your garden is coming along wonderfully. I happen to like the garish tomato cages so it seems to me letting an almost four year old pick them out is brilliant. πŸ™‚

    • I don’t usually use plain old tomato cages because they don’t hold up, but we needed a quick solution…the deer don’t like to stick their faces into things like that. She had SO much fun picking out colors!

  2. All those berries look good. At least you have plenty of time to think over your plans for the back field…. πŸ˜‰ Have a good week Marie!

  3. That red currant photo is one of the best I have seen. Absolutely love currants: all three colours [do you have white ones too?] – my N European childhood methinks! I’ll remember to look up my old Estonian and Finnish cookery books and send you a black currant recipe or ask for one on my Estonian national food blog. Love your garlic scenario also and, thank God, I am not the only one with weeds trying to tell me to love them πŸ™‚ !

    • I don’t have any white ones in the yard, but I have seen them…The currants are only a few years old – until recently, it was illegal to plant them in this state, something about them carrying a disease that was dangerous to pine trees. I guess it finally dawned on people that we’re not exactly growing a lot of timber anymore….
      I’d LOVE to see some of your old recipes – how cool would that be? πŸ˜€

      • Marie: sorry I have been so long but time does run away! Drew a fat zero on the Estonian/Finnish books [and I have quite a few]: all wanted to make dessert soup with both gooseberries and currents or cover them with other fruit coulis, no sauces to go with meat. Now: you have probably done this already but I Googled both ‘Saveur’ mag and Taste.com.au [methinks they have everything:) ! They both could only come up with a kind of Cumberland – I thought the taste.com.au one by far the better: it says to use currant jelly or jam or something but in the 20 mins the recipe takes, fresh currants would be done! Sorry not to have done better – when I > Estonian food blog I’ll have another go!!

  4. You must have an awful lot of blueberries if you’ve so many that a few have made it to the fridge. πŸ™‚
    Beautiful photos of the currants. I’ve no recipes for you but I’m sure someone will come through for you. I need to attack my weeds. The front garden is starting to look bad. You can only call them wildflowers for so long before someone calls your bluff. πŸ™‚

    • It’s a HUGE year for blueberries! I’ve never seen these bushes so productive…there’s a whole TWO CUPS in the fridge πŸ˜€
      I got some weeding-time in, but with last week’s heat, they just came right back 😦

    • Tart, but not mouth-puckering…and kind of earthy. They’re great in sauces and jams, or mixed with sweeter berries in desserts. They’re not easy to find up here – some states still prohibit growing them, because they can harbor a disease that kills pine trees…

  5. Such beautiful pictures. It always amazes me how so much can sprout up from seemingly nothing (which is really so much more than nothing). And I love how you said that the asparagus bed went to fern instead the expression “went to seed” or “went to pot”. I so love ferns and “going to fern” is really quite alright in my world.

  6. You are ahead of me Marie, my currants are only just ripening up, soon though!
    And no I’ve never seen an asparagus berry, guess who will be looking out for them on her plot πŸ™‚
    The garden is looking grand, just grand !

Leave a Reply

