Pumpkin Pickin’

Sweetberry Farm Pumpkins

Pumpkins are an Autumn Imperative.Β  Before the Return of the Small People to my house, I had given up decorating for the fall holidays, but pumpkins were still necessary items for the kitchen.

Now, we have to have both. Obviously. And since we grew no pumpkins in our garden this year, it was time to go Support Our Local Farmers and buy a few.

Sitting in the Field

I wasn’t the only one who had a tough year for winter squash.

Pickin' Punkin's

The limited selection didn’t bother the kiddoes…they went right to work.

Too Big

Some worked a little harder than others…

Not that one, Little Man.

Angel's New Baby

Angel’s got a good one!

(Ok, not really…it’s pretty ugly to tell the truth. But I let her bring it home…)

THAT'S more like it!

There ya’ go, Niko!

Smile!

Ok. The gourds can come, too…

65 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pickin’

  1. Pumpking picking is a must in pumpkin season, so good to see the children carrying on the tradition! Can’t believe it’ll be Halloween soon. I’m going to look for some nice pumpkins at the market tomorrow…

  2. They are SO cute. I remember when your kids went pumpkin picking and mother and I were visiting. I’m sure there are pictures somewhere!!

  3. Your little punkins are far more adorable than the pumpkins out there, but I have to admit it’s always endearing anyway to see kids light up like this when they get to get in the seasonal mode in a pumpkin patch! πŸ™‚

  4. I miss pumpkin patching. When I was a kid, and then when my kids were small, we’d drive out to the boonies to find a real pumpkin patch and hope they sold roasted corn. πŸ˜‰ Nowadays, people out here throw hay and pumpkins into any ol’ parking lot corner, add some giant inflatable things, and make their money selling tickets to their Superman slide or Sponge Bob bouncy castle.

  5. Looked at the first photo and said ‘Oh no, what on earth are you going to do with ALL those’ πŸ™‚ ! Luckily they were there for an obviously joyous pick . . . and the pics do show exactly how much fun that was! Love that last photo also!!!!!!

  6. This is my favourite time of the year! I can almost smell the leaves and crispness of the autumn air when reading your post. Angel is getting so big and adorable as usual. Happy Halloween! Take care, BAM

      • In Australia, what you would call ‘squash or gourds’ are just referred to as pumpkins. We keep it simple! We grow Jap and Butternut as the most common and they’re the two that are always found in supermarkets throughout the year but these days you can get pretty much any seed variety and grow from scratch.

  7. Beautiful! Kids are adorable!!! How fun! πŸ˜€
    We grow Cinderella (Rouge Vif D’ Etampes) and Galeux D’Eyesines (which means β€œembroidered with warts from Eysines.” Both are great for pies and soups! I will be canning mine this week or next. I have to can the Buttercup Squash that I picked this morning too!
    That’s interesting that in Australia pumpkins are called squash as well. I love Butternut Squash…alas…I didn’t plant any this year and it would have been an excellent year for them too! Drat! LOL
    I plant heirlooms because I am a seed saver too. I am cataloging them for the future. I would hate it if my favorites disapeared…sigh…we lose so many species everyday.
    Pumpkin carving is a huge thing here in the States! Some truly amazing art work!!!! Now that the kids are all grown I deliver them to them and the rest I can! πŸ˜€ All my girls can too!!! When you love salsa like we do…it would cost a small fortune to keep us all supplied! πŸ˜‰
    Cold here today. 28 degrees! Got a good frost last night. Hope you are enjoying a wonderful fall back east! Fall in New England is one of my favorite times of the year!

    • I got exactly ONE batch of pickles made this year…the addition of my daughter and grandson to the household in late spring created a logistical nightmare when it came to hot things on the stove that were time-sensitive. Sad, too – I might not have had any winter squashes this year, but the cucumbers were amazing! I’ll never plant anything but Boston Pickling again! Next year, things will be closer to ‘Normal’ – whatever that is πŸ˜‰

      We are having the gentlest fall I can remember in my nearly-18 years here…a couple of light frosts, but most nights have been right around 50. The leaves are just about reaching peak down here on the Island…I’ll try to get some good photos today, if the sun is out.

      Do you have a blog, too? I’d love to see your farm!

      • Hi! No…I don’t have a blog, but I am going to start one this winter when all the field work is finished. Still have lots of work left. I think our fall is over…sigh….will have to wait and see what happens over the next week or so. Sure would love to finish the beans. Still have those 60 acres left that we don’t want to leave under snow. Too early for that word!!! Yikes! Lots of corn standing too and sugar beets that need to be harvested in our area.
        It was a phenomenal year here for cucumbers too! Boston Pickling? Where do you get them? Will look them up. I have enough dill pickles canned to last for a while…so I didn’t do them this year. I like to make some of them in half gallon sized jars! Makes me feel like I am at one of the church fairs back home! LOL πŸ˜€ You know….those nice big barrels of jumbo dill pickles! Yum! πŸ˜€
        Melons, squash, potatoes, peppers, tomatoes, eggplant and berries were outstanding this year!!! Apples and corn not so much this year. Off year for the apples and picnic bugs devoured the corn…I hate those little thieves!!! The crucial time for rain didn’t come our way so the didn’t fill out well either. Got one crop early in the season though.
        Because it was so dry we were inundated with grasshoppers as well. I never saw so many! They were everywhere!!!! The kitties would eat them…but how many can 7 cats eat? LOL
        How fun to have your daughter and grandson home for a spell! Been there done that! So glad we are able to help our children if they need it.
        There is always next year for more pickle making and other canning! I say that every year! And every year I say I am not going to have such a huge garden…that never happens! LOL
        You are enjoying some nice fall weather! New England is so pretty in the fall! Here it is cloudy, drizzling, and chilly…41 degrees… If only the sun would shine!
        Well, have a great day and give your Cleo a huge hug from me! I know she is the best girl! And one for Rufus too! πŸ™‚

        • Boston Pickling seeds came from Territorial – like most of what I planted this year. They were good for salads and pickles, they’re heirlooms, and Territorial has them available in Organic seeds…Winner, all the way around! I grew watermelons for the first time this summer, and they were a raging success…tomatoes, peppers, green beans, beets, chard, and plenty of salad greens, too. The carrots didn’t do so well – we got an unusual hot spell in July, and they bolted quickly…
          Have a great day, Sweetie – good luck with those beans!

          • I am aware of Territorial! I get their catalog every winter! I have ordered from them before. I will check out their new catalog when it arrives! I get my seed potatoes from Maine! Wood Prairie Farm! I order the Elbas, Yukon Gold, and fingerlings! Great seed potatoes! You might look into them if you aren’t aware of them already! I get so many catalogs!!!!!!!!! Like reading a juicy novel for me! LOL Thanks!

          • Nice garden!!!! πŸ˜€ I can see you love it too! My gardens are organic as well. If it goes in our bodies…I want it to be healthy and safe! You won’t believe this!!! I had a watermelon last year that was about 35 pounds!!!!!! It just kept getting bigger and bigger and bigger! LOL Tasted great! Nice and sweet! I saved the seeds!!!! πŸ˜€ This year I planted a different variety. They were very good too! But I don’t think I will save the seeds for these. My cantaloups were excellent this year! Was giving them away! What kind of watermelon? We have been in drought for the past two years…so this fall rain is most welcome. Thanks! Have a great day! πŸ™‚

  8. Adorable. After seeing these pictures, I need to take my own out on a trip this weekend. We got a couple pumpkins from the garden and I thought that would be enough, but looking at those smiles makes me want to do the trip….. and apples wouldn’t be a bad idea either!

    • I wish I could say that we did this every year when my kids were little, but sadly, we didn’t. My work schedule simply didn’t allow for it…I’m not missing it with the grandkids, though! You should totally go – can’t wait to see your Big Smile Photos! πŸ™‚

  9. Magic! Seeing a field of pumpkins must be a glorious sight, I have only seen my weedy pumpkin patch πŸ™‚ And isn’t Miss angel growing up – long legs and all! Hope you have a bright and breezy weekend Marie x

    • Oh, boy – is she ever growing! You should hear the games the two of them make up to play, Claire…Sometimes I just go sit in my office and listen on the monitor and laugh πŸ™‚
      Hope your weekend is picture-perfect, too!

    • Me too! I have been roasting them for days now! And squash too! All going into the freezer for soup, pie, bars, and casseroles! Mmmmm…. Now trying to figure out how to display two of them for butt cheeks hanging out of trousers, by the hay rake in the front lawn! πŸ˜‰

        • Squash pie is delicious! When I make my buttercup squash I mashed it with lots of butter and top it with dark brown sugar with just enough melted butter tot make it crumble. Then I bake it at 325 for about 60 minutes til the top gets crunchy! It tastes really good! But I understand we all have our likes and dislikes! πŸ˜‰ I am a veggie lover. Kevin will eat corn, green beans, beets, squash, peppers, tomatoes, etc…but try to get him to eat a lima bean? No go! LOL Me? Pass that lima bean soup my way!!! πŸ˜€

            • gardenfreshtomatoes says:
              October 20, 2013 at 6:14 am
              I grew a small melon called Blacktail Mountain – they each weighed about 6 pounds, and were really tasty. It was my first year for watermelons, but it won’t be the last!

              Thank you!!! I will look for them in my catalogs this winter! πŸ˜€

        • How is your fall weather coming along? I hear you are expecting some very c-o-l-d weather!
          I am thinking I will carve some of my pumpkins too. After all…Halloween is this Thursday! No trick or treaters out here in farm country…sigh….would love to see some photos of yours!!! πŸ˜€

          • We’re not too cold (mid-30’s), but north of Providence was below freezing last night…it’s coming, for sure!
            No Trick-or-Treaters at our house – we’re down on a dead-end road – so we’re taking the little guys over to an actual neighborhood to go with friends. Cross your fingers that it doesn’t rain!

            • Fingers and toes crossed for a warm and rainless Halloween! I love this… “An actual neighborhood” Ha! My brother lives in North Kingstown by the water and it is pretty chilly he says! Has used his heat already. Here it is in the low 2os and will be dropping tonight. Brrrr….soooo not ready this year! Snow expected out west and dipping south! Yay! So glad it isn’t hitting here! Huge snow storm from Montana. Have fun with the kiddies!!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

