The (First) Feast

Indian Gal

Yesterday was Feast Day at Angel’s school.

25 four- and five-year olds, dressed as Pilgrims and Indians, singing songs, reciting poems, waving at the audience…

Only one who burst into tears.

Not ours, obviously.

I want to go to school!

Mr. I-Want-To-Go-To-School got to come and watch. His comment?

“I want a costume TOO!”

(Yes, I cut his hair. Yes, I cried. He and his Mama love it, though…)

drumming

So today, while it rains, we’ll be making headbands. And maybe a drum…

Did I just say that? I must be losing my mind…

37 thoughts on “The (First) Feast

  1. The plastic-lidded drums aren’t quite so noisy. Angel is certainly enjoying hers!

    Nikko’s new ‘do reminds me of when my son was that age and got a high brushcut that his father liked to stiffen with a little gel. I called Sonny-Boy my “petit hΓ©risson”, my little hedgehog.

  2. What a beautiful Indian Princess she made, and I know he’ll be a fierce warrior as well. Great memories. With regard to your mind – I for one cheer your stamina so who needs a mind, just keep having fun and roll on with the grandkids. πŸ™‚

    • Sarah has tried taking him for a “real” haircut, but he’s so wiggly (and ticklish!) that it was a total failure each time. This was our second attempt, and he sat still for it this time…If his hair had had those sweet curls like Kaya’s, I’m not sure I could have done it πŸ™‚

  3. Oh what a happy little Indian does Angel make! What fun! But I feel a bit sorry for Niko – all summer they played together and now Angel can do all those ‘grown-up’ things and for reasons I am certain he won’t quite accept, he can’t! Mmph!!! Like kathryningrid I am beating the drum!!!! And making a rather loud war cry πŸ˜€ !!

  4. Honey, these photographs are stunning,, definitely worth printing.. what a joy it is for you to be suddenly flung back to school and indians and so forth.. tired i know, but a gift.. c

    • He’s so grown up now…When my son was 7, his friend next door got a buzz cut. James insisted he wanted one, too…until the hairdresser took the first big swipe with the clippers. Big tears started to roll down his cheeks…too late by then, she had to finish it. He tends toward pony tails now, at the age of 22 πŸ™‚

    • She’s something…I just sit back some days and marvel at how far she’s come. πŸ™‚
      Niko will be three in a couple of months – he was overdue for a Big Boy haircut. A trip to the barber was an unmitigated disaster, so Grandmom wound up doing it. It hurt my heart…but he loves it.

Leave a Reply

