Out With the Old, In With the New

New Year's Babies

They tried so hard to stay up, but just past 10:30 Niko crawled into his sleeping bag, counted backwards from 10, and shouted “HAPPY NEW YEAR! I’m tired….”

And that was that.

Dawn 2015

Dawn has broken on the new year – a year of major changes for all of us. It’s a cold, gentle sunrise…My last in Rhode Island. Next year’s photo will be in another place, a long, long way from the scene I’ve shot every new year’s morning for over a decade, and have lived in for nearly two….

Exciting? Yes, but tinged with melancholy.

Happy New Year, everyone. May it bring your Heart’s Desire….

28 thoughts on “Out With the Old, In With the New

  1. Tell Niko he lasted an hour later than I did last night. But then he’ll tell you that 53 is really, REALLY old, and clearly I just couldn’t help falling asleep…
    Day is dawning on a new era for you, and it looks like the day will be lovely. Blessings on you for the New Year.
    PS Those kids always manage to find the COOLEST shades!

  2. Happy New Year Marie! I thought maybe you had moved already, but hope the move goes smoothly for you all. All the best for a great new year and a fresh start. I bet you’ll see some lovely sunrises from your new home too, and I shall look forward to an update once you’re settled. Good luck!

  3. Happy New Year to you and to those beautiful little ones! I didn’t know that you were leaving us! I wish you a smooth transition and a whole new garden to cultivate.

  4. You will have to change the name of your blog.. I do hope you can keep in touch, i am dying to go along with you on your new venture in a new house and new state.. Happy New Year Darling.. c

  5. I took a photo of the sunset as well, though I know it won’t be the last one I see here, if that makes sense. All the best to you in 2015 Marie, I hope the move goes smoothly and you love your new home. Take care.

  6. Turning the page on loved chapters, especially ones thought to’ve lasted a while longer yet, is definitely melancholy. Vonnegut comes to mind for me when I need to muster the will to actually turn that page: so it goes…
    Best to you and yours in the new year.

  7. Happy New Year for your family !
    And I hope a good deal for you, so Yala (forward) like says the song of CalogΓ©ro in honor of sister Emmanuelle !…
    Florence

  8. Wow- quite a change and I can imagine the sadness that has to come with it. I have fallen off of the blogging world this past year so I don’t know the circumstances for the move but I hope you are off to a great adventure. I look forward to the new scene you choose to photograph (if indeed you plan on continuing the tradition).

    And as for the New Year. My mom was in town so Husband and I got to go out with friends to bring in the New Year. Our kids made it to about 10:30 as well before falling off.

    • Heading back to Texas – home, for me – after 20 years here to help out my Mom…Sad and glad, all at once.

      Had to laugh at your post about the boys discussing Bathroom Matters – I had to remind Niko this week that not everyone wants to hear that he’s practicing Peeing Standing Up πŸ™‚

  9. Happy New Year, Marie! I know what you mean about the excitement and melancholy. I’m looking forward to getting to know your new place. Wishing you a smooth and easy transition from place to place.

Leave a Reply

