Aaaand, We’re Back!

all the boxes

Hello, Texas! Been here nearly a month, and the unpacking continues…

Birthday

We’ve celebrated a birthday, a Patriots Superbowl win, Valentine’s day….and are trying to get new routines established in a new place.

hide and seek

The weather has been awesome…especially compared to what is going on in Rhode Island right now. More snow than in any winter I saw when I lived there, and it’s only February… My heart goes out to all my friends and family there…

I feel *really* bad about the teasing after the first storm. Honest….

Texas Sunset

So now that my computer and camera are both unpacked and functional, I hope to be back on a semi-regular basis…

I have *so* much to show you!

32 thoughts on “Aaaand, We’re Back!

  1. OMG: Niko and Angel are quite the same height and so serious until a much wanted birthday gift is there to be opened!! Hope the trip with the two cars, two drivers, a boy and his dog were not too stressful! Aaand methinks we are all glad to see you back and are waiting for all the news πŸ™‚ !!

  2. Welcome back! Beautiful house, and look at those tall weeds you call grandkids! Can’t wait to take the tour of your little corner of Texas. ;o)

    • Thanks! Might change it…this blog has morphed into Other Things more times than I can count… Going to be at least a year before I have a real garden again, so that didn’t seem to fit right now… We’ll get there, though!

  3. What a journey. As you settle in, I hope you find a sense of place. Was sad to read of saying goodbyes…especially to Cleo. Looking forward to seeing new sunrises and tomatoes!

  4. All right, darling, you are HERE! But I wonder if we’re all paying penance for your teasing of the folk back home about the weather with this lovely little sheet of ice… πŸ˜‰

    I am so looking forward to seeing the whole transplanted RI crew! I’d gladly have contacted you sooner, and maybe even been able to help a little with the unpacking and such, but have been ridiculously swamped. Phooey. Soon, I hope. I’ve been fighting off a nagging cold for the last week or so, had a brief but memorable visit from the food poison monster the other night (Yuck. Just yuck.), so perhaps it’s just as well I didn’t pop by to share!

    As for Richard and me, we’ve been going nuts since the church interim ended finally Dec 28th with trying to catch up on a ton of stuff left neglected during that 15 months. Cleaned up the household biz files. Sorted and offloaded a passel of books, clothes (sorry, nothing that would fit two fast-growing short people we know!), and that kind of thing. Now sorting the paperwork to do taxes. So much fun! Meanwhile, the head honcho of the choral program here decided, after waffling for several years and then saying definitely NO, that he IS retiring at the end of this year, so R is scrambling to see that Jerry’s whole work load and his own get fully covered and the grad students don’t get left in the lurch for next year.

    In other words, as with your household, the normal craziness continues. I hope you’re loving the place as you settle in, and that all of the adjustments will be fully worthwhile and as easy as possible.

    And I hope we’ll see you pretty soon. We leave tomorrow morning for Salt Lake City (for the national choral directors’ biennial), but will be back and running again by next week, so hopefully by then you might see enough slowing of the whirlwinds to find time for lunch with me, whether with others in tow or not. I may not have much in the way of cool toys, but I do have art supplies enough to keep Chloe and Niko up to their elbows for about a month straight, I would think. And maybe all the rest of us, too. πŸ˜‰

    Big hugs, and a very belated welcome to the neighborhood!!!
    Kath

Leave a Reply

