I *SAID* I Was Sorry!

Ice... all ice

Doesn’t look like much, does it? I mean, I’ve spent the last 20 years in a place where we measure snow in feet, not inches, right? I *know* winter, and how to drive in bad weather…and when to stay home. What’s a little…

Ice.

Ugh…

The first storm was almost all ice.

We just stayed put.

my litle baker

And we baked…

Naturally.

The second storm brought snow…

 

WP_20150227_16_19_29_Pro

A whole three inches!

Do you know what happens when you get three inches of snow, and have no way to remove it from the roads, and then thousand of cars drive on it?

You get a skating rink.

Like, right after the Zamboni kind of slick.

School dismissed early. The usual 15 minute ride took an hour and ten minutes, with more than one instance of, “I just stopped, why is my car still moving? Suppose it will stop before it hits the guardrail on this bridge?”

It did, and we made it home in one piece…but I don’t ever remember being that scared in a New England snowstorm…And I drove through a nighttime blizzard the night Niko was born.

NOT doing that again.

snowball fight!

Which brings us to the third, and hopefully LAST storm.

Huge by local standards…and I’d already told the kids’ teachers they wouldn’t be in until the roads were clear, so we were already good to go by the time they cancelled class…

My Angels

Note to self: Next time this sort of thing is predicted, don’t close the driveway gate… it froze shut, and Sarah almost couldn’t get to work on time…

We got in several good hours of play before the strong Southern sun melted all of it…

Our First Texas Snowman

Even made a snowman!

Now… I have PERSONALLY apologized to everyone I can remember teasing about our weather versus All That Snow… If I need to make an offering to some Special Goddess to get this to stop, please let me know! Another storm like this, and we WON’T HAVE PEACHES THIS YEAR!!!!

And THAT would be tragic indeed…

27 thoughts on “I *SAID* I Was Sorry!

  1. You have peach trees?! Oh I do hope they haven’t suffered. It’s the same when we compare southern Germany with the UK… they are prepared for snow here in Bavaria, but when they get half an inch in the UK the whole traffic system including trains comes to a standstill! Hope spring is now on the way!

    • No peach trees in the yard (yet), but lots in the area… One of the things I’m looking forward to this summer!
      Chily and rainy for the next few days here, then it looks like we’re headed for Spring 🙂

  2. Don’t know why I am sort’of laughing [well, I guess I am looking at Angel and Nico’s faces and concurrently reading your words 🙂 !]. Certainly hoping for no bad accidents but trust the weather to follow you down and this late! But I DO love your long driveway and the obviously wide street . . . that will look beautiful come greening time!!

    • I can laugh now, too, but that was possibly the most frightening drive of my life…won’t be doing that again, for sure!
      The front yard is big and shady, but in need of work – all the shrubs are trimmed into lollipops and loaves of bread…not my thing at all. It’ll take a few years, but it will happen!

    • I remembered that, too…never gave the road crews enough credit back in RI, I guess. There’s a Jeep Club here that goes around pulling people out of ditches on bad days…good guys. Hope I never need them 😉

    • Not only that, they use less salt because of the damage it does to the roads…
      I think I figured that with a small snow, enough cars would have driven over it to make good tracks…didn’t work that way.
      Fingers crossed, that was the last one!

  3. Just found you again. Not sure why I wasn’t getting notifications that you were settled and posting. I’ll have to check that. Anyhow. I had to laugh because moving from a snowbelt to the south where everything shuts down when it snows had me making similar noises and apologies. It’s a whole different winter world, isn’t it? I suppose if you don’t get a lot of snow and ice, there’s no reason to know how to deal with it the way folks do in the snowy north.

Leave a Reply

